Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
wacojohn
Samurai
Samurai
Distribution: Porteus 3.1

Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#1 by wacojohn » 15 Sep 2015, 20:24

Using current ver of Porteus-32 and Firefox. Was getting FF warnings that Flash was outdated. Found the following with a thread search:
1. From https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/ downloaded package for Linux 32-bit named install_flash_player_11_linux.x86.tar.gz.
Firefox saved it to Downloads folder.
2. I was logged in as root from the start, so I didn't have to run console as superuser.
In console type

Code: Select all
tar -C /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins -xzf Downloads/install_flash_player_11_linux.x86.tar.gz
and I implemented it with 32-bit code. Seemed to process (I am new at this), and FF now does not give the warning ... but YOUTUBE etc shows clips as follows:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/o9pyqz7v9vhoo ... M.png?dl=0

Help is appreciated in advance.

Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: Cinnamon 5.01 ISO

Re: Adobe Flash update Firefox

Post#2 by Ed_P » 16 Sep 2015, 00:15

I use USM to find and download current Flash updates. Download and choose the create a module option then copy the module (.xzm) file to your modules folder. Then right click on it and Activate it.
Ed

wacojohn
Samurai
Samurai

Post#3 by wacojohn » 16 Sep 2015, 02:17

Ed_P wrote:I use USM to find and download current Flash updates. Download and choose the create a module option then copy the module (.xzm) file to your modules folder. Then right click on it and Activate it.
Ahhh that it should be so simple. Update All completed. Searched for 'flash', 'flashplayer', 'adobe' .... no hits.

Figured maybe it is because I already did an install (of sorts). Dunno. To make matters worse, .. don't know how to uninstall what I did install. There is a readme that says:
Installing using the plugin tar.gz: