*Solved* Install Not so Easy

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Gamer1
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: 32-bit MATE

*Solved* Install Not so Easy

Post#1 by Gamer1 » 10 Mar 2015, 18:18

OK, I'm a noob when it comes to Linux sort to speak. I've been building and installing computer systems since 1991 and have setup Novell and Microsoft servers.

The problem..

I have some older workstations (win xp machines) that I want to install Porteus on to give them extended life as units that basically just surf The Internet. I want a "light weight" OS that is easy and can be installed from a CD (not DVD). After doing some reading Porteus sounded like a really good fit. I made the assumption that if it could be installed to a CD or USB drive it could also be installed on a desktop's hdd.

So, I made the boot CD. I booted Porteus and used Gparted to remove the windows partition(s). Seeing the nice "Install Porteus" icon I'm thinking "Sweet!". I start the process and the first speed bump is I need to make my partitions to install to. OK, not rocket science and the install allows me to launch Gparted to do the job. So I make an EXT4 primary and flag it to be "Boot" and I make a small linux-swap. Back to the install, do a refresh, there is my partition, I forge on. Next question involves needing a "bootloader" OK, if I need one so be it. check the box to include a bootloader. And away it goes copying files. I'm feeling pretty good about this installation. Not as smooth as it should have been so far, but nothing I couldn't do..

Now it's done copying files and I reboot. It spits the CD out, nice touch. I've installed some that make it a challenge to get the CD out while rebooting. And my computer starts the boot from HDD only to tell me there is no OS there.