Page 2 of 2

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 05 Jan 2015, 19:02
by Bogomips
@fanthom

Do you mean that cliexec=telinit-3 should now be used in order to boot into text mode?

Had already looked at cliexec, but there was no information there about text mode. So, followed the advice given in this old post http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=1419 :unknown:

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 05 Jan 2015, 19:12
by fanthom
For text mode you could use just '3' as its in porteus.cfg

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 05 Jan 2015, 22:40
by Ed_P
fanthom does Porteus support independent Options folders like it does for Modules?

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 06 Jan 2015, 12:04
by fanthom
if you meant '/optional folder' then the answer is no.

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 06 Jan 2015, 14:16
by Ed_P
fanthom wrote:if you meant '/optional folder' then the answer is no.
Yes, that's what I meant.


-edit-

Anyways, adding the Optional folder to extramods= gives me what I think I need for testing DEs with load / noload.

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.0.1 changes=EXIT  \n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% changes=EXIT:/porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules volume=40  
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= LXDE\n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat;/porteus3.0/Optional volume=33 noload=kde;mate;razor;xfce load=lxde
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= KDE \n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat;/porteus3.0/Optional volume=33 noload=lxde;mate;razor;xfce load=kde
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
where ISO30=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64.iso

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 07 Jan 2015, 06:40
by Ed_P
Ed_P wrote:Anyways, adding the Optional folder to extramods= gives me what I think I need for testing DEs with load / noload.
Yup, it works.

Don't like KDE. Haven't tried LXDE yet.

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 07 Jan 2015, 12:53
by Bogomips
Ed's tripping the light fantastic 8)

Don't forget to try Kwrite as possible scripting syntax aid. :wink:

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Posted: 18 Feb 2015, 14:30
by Ed_P
BTW Bogomips when testing other desktops I found that I can see how my RazorQt changes will look on them by copying my save.dat changes file to an extramods folder like so:

cp -p /mnt/sda5/Porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat /mnt/sda5/Porteus3.0/modsavedat/porteussave.dat.xzm

Note the .xzm extention added to the end of the copy.

I still boot in Always Fresh mode, so as to not mess up my save.dat file, but I can see the test desktop in a more normal mode for me.

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= MATE\n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Optional;/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat volume=33 noload=kde;lxde;razor;xfce load=mate
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= XFCE\n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Optional;/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat volume=33 noload=kde;lxde;razor;mate load=xfce
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

where ISO30 is set as:

Code: Select all

set ISO30=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64-nu.iso
Thought you might be interested.

I tried KDE and it didn't appeal to me. Same with LXQT. Will see how these two look.