Other files on a live USB (and other questions)

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Joewe27
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: Linux Mint, Ubuntu, Porteus

Other files on a live USB (and other questions)

Post#1 by Joewe27 » 18 Nov 2014, 02:42

I'm rather new to Porteus (and the forums). I'm not certain about several things, even after reading the FAQ's multiple times. So I have three questions:

1. How do I make modules activated on startup?

2. To get new programs, I have been downloading them from the Porteus Package Manager as txz files, converting them to xzm automatically with right-click, and then activating them. Is this a correct and safe way of doing so?

3. I want to also keep extra files on the drive, like portable programs. Say I want GIMP and gVim (portable versions, naturally). Is it safe to simply partition the drive with GParted, leaving about 2 GB for my portable programs/files? Or will this mess something up?

Thank you in advance!

francois
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: Other files on a live USB (and other questions)

Post#2 by francois » 18 Nov 2014, 04:13

1. To be activated at startup automatically, It has to be located into the /porteus/modules folder. This is the standard way. There are other options, for example the cheatcode extramod=, see faq cheatcodes.

2. This is the way to do it. usm package manager is safe. You can also put the modules in the /porteus/modules folder if you want in some subfolder of the /porteus/modules folder (with the name of your choice so to keep the packages and dependencies together) and reboot.

3. You can partition the drive if you want, but you can simply store them in the folder of your choice. I imagine that there is no problem for you to have these files on a linux file system.
Last edited by francois on 18 Nov 2014, 13:08, edited 1 time in total.