Porteus USB and Samsung Printer ML-3051-ND not on list

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
rtk
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: 3.14.15-porteus

Porteus USB and Samsung Printer ML-3051-ND not on list

Post#1 by rtk » 05 Nov 2014, 11:58

Hello all,
this is my first time writing for help in the forum and I must add that I don't anything at all about Linux. What I do know, however, is that the printer, a Samsung ML-3051-ND, connected by USB to my computer in the office is not to be found on the list of Samsung printers included in the Print settings application.

Should I choose any other Samsung printer and hope that the driver does what is supposed to do? Or should I do something else?

I am trying out Porteus because Linux Mint Ubuntu doesn't do a good job at recognizing the printer, that is, it doesn't recognize that the printer is capable of front and back printing. Maybe this has something to do with the postscript driver. But being a newbie, I just don't know. Besides, I like Porteus and want it to work...

best to everybody,
rtk

fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk

Re: Porteus USB and Samsung Printer ML-3051-ND not on list

Post#2 by fanthom » 05 Nov 2014, 12:26

please install 'splix' package through USM as it contains drivers for Samsung (and few other) printers.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

rtk
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: 3.14.15-porteus

Partially Solved: Porteus USB and Samsung Printer ML-3051-ND

Post#3 by rtk » 05 Nov 2014, 15:17

Dear Fanthom,