Battery charging threshold on Lenovo Z580

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
mustard
White ninja
White ninja
Distribution: Porteus-v3.0.1 MATE x86_64

Battery charging threshold on Lenovo Z580

Post#1 by mustard » 07 Oct 2014, 18:52

Hello,
I am a new porteus user on a LenovoZ580 laptop, running it off a usb drive.
I have some experience with Linux, having used Ubuntu and Arch earlier.

I wanted to know if there is a way to enforce battery charging thresholds in Porteus, such that I can specify a max percentage value beyond which my battery is not charged, even if the power adapter is plugged in.
I ask because it worked while using an Ubuntu live usb (the threshold was 59% or 60%), and I also recall the same working on Arch earlier.
However, it has been some time now since I used Linux, and I have forgotten whether it worked off-the-shelf, or some changes were required; and I have been unable to find concrete information for implementing this on Porteus.

So, could somebody direct me how I should go about doing it?

Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Distribution: KDE4

Re: Battery charging threshold on Lenovo Z580

Post#2 by Slaxmax » 07 Oct 2014, 19:36

For safety, the limits are on the inside battery hardware.
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

mustard
White ninja
White ninja

Post#3 by mustard » 09 Oct 2014, 08:00

Thanks,
your reply indicates that there may be no way to do it using Linux alone.
I forgot to mention that when I previously used Ubuntu/Arch, I was dual booting with Windows 8 on the hard drive (and using Lenovo Power Mgmt on Windows).

So, maybe Windows toggled a hardware setting in the battery, which persisted across reboots.

One possible solution seems to be reinstalling Windows on the hard drive, use official Lenovo power mgmt. to set threshold, and then keep using Porteus as always.