ROS on Porteus

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
nico99
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 10:24
Distribution: Xfce
Location: Finland

ROS on Porteus

Post#1 by nico99 » 23 Sep 2014, 10:30

I try to install ROS ( ros.org ) on porteus and at the step:

Resolving Dependencies
Before you can build your catkin workspace you need to make sure that you have all the required dependencies. We use the rosdep tool for this:

$ rosdep install --from-paths src --ignore-src --rosdistro indigo -y

I have this error:

Code: Select all

ERROR: Rosdep experienced an error: Could not detect OS, tried ['windows', 'ubuntu', 'rhel', 'qnx', 'osx', 'opensuse', 'mint', 'gentoo', 'freebsd', 'fedora', 'debian', 'cygwin', 'arch']
Please go to the rosdep page [1] and file a bug report with the stack trace below.
[1] : http://www.ros.org/wiki/rosdep

rosdep version: 0.10.30

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 126, in rosdep_main
    exit_code = _rosdep_main(args)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 288, in _rosdep_main
    return _package_args_handler(command, parser, options, args)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 365, in _package_args_handler
    lookup = _get_default_RosdepLookup(options)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 117, in _get_default_RosdepLookup
    verbose=options.verbose)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rosdep2/sources_list.py", line 563, in create_default
    matcher = DataSourceMatcher.create_default(os_override=os_override)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rosdep2/sources_list.py", line 263, in create_default
    os_name, os_version, os_codename = os_detect.detect_os()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/rospkg/os_detect.py", line 459, in detect_os
    raise OsNotDetected("Could not detect OS, tried %s"%attempted)
OsNotDetected: Could not detect OS, tried ['windows', 'ubuntu', 'rhel', 'qnx', 'osx', 'opensuse', 'mint', 'gentoo', 'freebsd', 'fedora', 'debian', 'cygwin', 'arch']
Somebody can help me?
Thank you

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2086
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#2 by beny » 23 Sep 2014, 11:48

seem slackware is not supported by this project.so porteus isn't supported too

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1255
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#3 by wread » 23 Sep 2014, 12:51

@nico
I see beny gave you a good answer already, but this is not necessarily the end of the road...

The philosophy of Porteus is "A little fast performing OS, yet powerful"....This means we should choose software that helps to conform this philosophy. I have even read about ROS and found it super interesting for me, too.
However, if you would like to run ROS in Porteus you will have to do extensive hacking.

I see ROS is based mainly on Python (although many of the 352 packages are not written in that language); Python is an interpreter, and applications written in that language tend to be sluggish and heavy; The module 007-printing contains many Python functions, necessary (or better said -convenient-) to activate printers; one could use them to compile and install ROS-packages in Porteus.

Presently, I will be working in a research project, where I need to translate small movements of a mouse (y-values) with time (x-values) and put it in a graph and store that graph in a stream. That could be done with some ROS packages, I guess. So, if you are not in a hurry, you will be hearing from me in this forum.

Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2086
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#4 by beny » 23 Sep 2014, 16:35

nico99 tell us if robotpkg it is the same software you need, it is like a source code so maybe we can pull out a package

Hopefully everything is now complete.

An example robotpkg.conf file with the settings you provided to "bootstrap"
has been created for you. It can be found in:

/opt/openrobots/etc/robotpkg.conf

You can start building packages by changing to some package directory
and then doing "make update" in that directory.

Thank you.

===========================================================================

===> bootstrap started: mar 23 set 2014, 18.33.53, CEST
===> bootstrap ended: mar 23 set 2014, 18.34.25, CEST
bash-4.2#
seem that base to build other packages is complete?

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2086
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#5 by beny » 23 Sep 2014, 19:29

hi ,sorry you are right i have follow your build step and i can confirm you the issue,

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 675
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Russia is causing the immense damage to humanity
Contact:

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#6 by tome » 24 Sep 2014, 07:52

http://wiki.ros.org/electric/Installation/Slackware slightly outdated, but maybe it will help you find solution.
You have mind and feelings. Be wise and clever.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 333
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 and 4.0 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#7 by cttan » 26 Sep 2014, 08:43

@nico99

You may try the virtual machine image version of the ROS as per my post here:-
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=3651

But I have tested it before.

nico99
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Sep 2014, 10:24
Distribution: Xfce
Location: Finland

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#8 by nico99 » 03 Oct 2014, 13:53

Thank you but I can't solve the problem with OS

It works with the virtual machine but it's very slow

I installed all the depencies for lots of packages and it works !!

But I have some others problems :(
I need Shiboken for a package and I try to install it but I have this error during the compilation:

Code: Select all

make
[ 11%] Built target apiextractor
[ 11%] Built target testabstractmetaclass
[ 12%] Built target testabstractmetatype
[ 13%] Built target testaddfunction
[ 13%] Built target testarrayargument
[ 14%] Built target testcodeinjection
[ 14%] Built target testcontainer
[ 15%] Built target testconversionoperator
[ 16%] Built target testconversionruletag
[ 16%] Built target testctorinformation
[ 17%] Built target testdroptypeentries
[ 18%] Built target testdtorinformation
[ 18%] Built target testenum
[ 19%] Built target testextrainclude
[ 20%] Built target testfunctiontag
[ 20%] Built target testimplicitconversions
[ 21%] Built target testinserttemplate
[ 22%] Built target testmodifydocumentation
[ 22%] Built target testmodifyfunction
[ 23%] Built target testmultipleinheritance
[ 24%] Built target testnamespace
[ 24%] Built target testnestedtypes
[ 25%] Built target testnumericaltypedef
[ 26%] Built target testprimitivetypetag
[ 26%] Built target testrefcounttag
[ 27%] Built target testreferencetopointer
[ 28%] Built target testremovefield
[ 28%] Built target testremoveimplconv
[ 29%] Built target testremoveoperatormethod
[ 30%] Built target testresolvetype
[ 30%] Built target testreverseoperators
[ 31%] Built target testtemplates
[ 32%] Built target testtoposort
[ 32%] Built target testtyperevision
[ 33%] Built target testvaluetypedefaultctortag
[ 34%] Built target testvoidarg
Linking CXX shared library libshiboken-python2.7.so
/usr/lib64/gcc/x86_64-slackware-linux/4.8.2/../../../../x86_64-slackware-linux/bin/ld: /usr/local/lib/libpython2.7.a(abstract.o): relocation R_X86_64_32S against `_Py_NotImplementedStruct' can not be used when making a shared object; recompile with -fPIC
/usr/local/lib/libpython2.7.a: could not read symbols: Bad value
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [libshiboken/libshiboken-python2.7.so.1.2.2] Error 1
make[1]: *** [libshiboken/CMakeFiles/libshiboken.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
Thank you if you have an idea

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#9 by fanthom » 03 Oct 2014, 14:18

the strange thing is that linker looks for a static python library in /usr/local/lib/.
please install original python package from here:
http://mirrors.slackware.com/slackware/ ... 6_64-1.txz

and check if that helps.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2086
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: ROS on Porteus

Post#10 by beny » 03 Oct 2014, 18:27

fanthom i have modified file into ros to check slackware system and i think ros need a packages manager for all system but not slackware so the warning and the error.

Post Reply