Selecting Default Sound Card

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
ilya17
Ronin
Ronin
Distribution: Ubuntus, Puppys

Selecting Default Sound Card

Post#1 by ilya17 » 13 Sep 2013, 07:03

Hi, Linux novice here and Slackware noob.

I've been searching the forum for answers but this post is the best I could find: http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=1676

I'm running Porteus with KDE4 and that post essentially explains my problem with selecting a sound card. I have tried the script user Ahau provided but the problem is I can't seem to properly close the applications that interact with ALSA/sound.

Through trial and error I have discovered that I need to disable KMix and the processes it depends on. Problem is the process is a KDE dependancy (is that the right term?) So when I end the process my desktop environment crashes and I have to restart it, which restarts KMix with incorrect settings and puts me back at square one. One time KDE didn't crash for some reason and I was able to pick and configure the proper sound card, but the settings didn't survive a reboot.

That thread is kind of old so if there's already a known fix that I missed it a link would be much appreciated. :)

wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Distribution: Porteus v5.0-kde-64 bits

Re: Selecting Default Sound Card

Post#2 by wread » 13 Sep 2013, 11:13

If you are using KDE, try Start>Kde System Settings>Multimedia!

Good luck!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit

Post#3 by Ahau » 13 Sep 2013, 14:07

Are you using 32-bit Porteus KDE? Looking through my script, it looks like I did not update it for 32-bit KDE4, it still assumes you are using trinity (doh!)

If that is the case, then please download this updated script: http://porteus-xfce.googlecode.com/file ... ard-select