Page 2 of 3

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 14:46
by brokenman
Open a root console and do this:

Code: Select all

chmod 4755 /usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox
Now chrome should launch from the menu.

http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=81&t=1991

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 18:09
by Ed_P
Thanks brokenman but

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# chmod 4755 /usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox
chmod: cannot access ‘/usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox’: No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# 
I thought maybe the Chrome install hadn't been saved but when I tried to PPM it again it said it was already installed.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 18:30
by Hamza

Code: Select all

chmod 4755 /opt/google/chrome/chrome-sandbox

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 20:31
by Ed_P
Thanks Hamza but:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# chmod 4755 /opt/google/chrome/chrome-sandbox
chmod: cannot access ‘/opt/google/chrome/chrome-sandbox’: No such file or directory
root@porteus:~# 
Is it possible the porteussave.dat file is not saving things in the /opt/ and /usr/ folders?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# ls /opt
porteus-scripts/  ppm/
root@porteus:~# ls /usr/
X11@    bin/   i486-slackware-linux/  lib/      man/    spool@
X11R6/  dict@  include/               libexec/  sbin/   src/
adm@    doc/   info/                  local/    share/  tmp@
root@porteus:~# 

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 21:22
by brokenman
Oops, sorry i misread the thread. My solution was for a common problem in chromium which is a google-chrome clone. Please try to start google-chrome from a guest console to see what error message it gives you.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 21:38
by Hamza
That's sure. That is not a standard Google Chrome install. Every releases of Google Chrome put cores files in /opt/google/chrome.

Please try to reinstall it using slackyd.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 22:52
by Ed_P
Ok. The PPM app is Chromium not Chrome.

When I logged off of root and onto guest I used PPM to find and download Chromium it worked and Activated. However it wouldn't start from the menu until I did the chmod 4755 /usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox command which I had to do from root mode which took me time to find my notes on how to do that. So Chromium under guest does now work.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ chmod 4755 /usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox
chmod: changing permissions of ‘/usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox’: Operation not permitted
guest@porteus:~$ su
Password:    toor
root@porteus:/home/guest#     chmod 4755 /usr/lib/chromium/chromium_sandbox
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
However the PlayFour URL doesn't work in it either.

I also tried the playfour html code saved from IE in FF and it still wouldn't work. I found that when the URL runs in IE IE runs in "quirk mode". If I switch IE to run in "IE 9 mode" the URL reacts the same as in FF. I didn't try the IE 8 or 7 modes.

Does FF have a "quirk mode"?

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 23:00
by Hamza
That may means something. Perhaps IE is allowing cross domain without that XML file.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 17 Mar 2013, 23:50
by Ed_P
NOW, if I open the URL in FF here and check it's Page Info / General info I see that FF is using Render Mode: Quirks mode!!!!

:wall:

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 18 Mar 2013, 07:12
by Hamza
Either that website doesn't deliver the same page if you use IE. Or IE is allowing cross domain which is very insecure but if that allow you to play..

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 18 Mar 2013, 12:45
by Ed_P
Apparently it has something to do with the current date. If you use a URL in the format: http://games.myway.com/player/arcade/id ... tml?clid=1 where clid is any number greater than 0 it works. The clid references a date in a table and 0 equates to the current date.

Without rewriting the code I don't think there is much more that can be done. Thanks for you help guys. :beer:

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 18 Mar 2013, 13:25
by Hamza
Yeah, it seems the page is not rendered in the same way than without that clid variable. Maybe this variable was made for that propose. Anyway that appear to be the solution to your problem.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 18 Mar 2013, 15:16
by Ed_P
The variable is tied to this code:

Code: Select all

var todayDay = "";
function todayDate() {
var result="";
if ((clid==0)||(typeof(pffdata) == "undefined")){
var now=new Date();
var y=now.getYear()+"";
var yy=y.substring(2,4);
if (navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Firefox")!=-1){
yy = LZ(yy);
}
which in turn is tied to the xml file name that includes the date. ie pff130318.xml, pff130317.xml, pff130316.xml.

If the browser's userAgent field can be modified to not reference FireFox the URL might work fine.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 18 Mar 2013, 20:07
by Hamza
Please have a look there for explanation about editing User Agent in Firefox.

In order to see your actual user agent, please have a look there.

Re: FireFox link error

Posted: 19 Mar 2013, 04:07
by Ed_P
Excellent links Hamza. :Yahoo!:

I tried them, even customized one of the user agents to be IE 5, but it didn't solve the missing file problem. :o

Thanks for your help Hamza. :beer: