Page 1 of 1

bootloader and more distros

Posted: 23 Feb 2013, 20:33
by gnimmelf
Hi again

after mouse problems im now up and runing :)

a little problem arised though.

im used to use this comand

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc
to decide witch distro is going to own the bootloader.
now i lost my boddhi install, and porteus owns the loader. how can i get the loader to read both distros? so i can choose between them?

kindly gnimmelf

Re: bootloader and more distros

Posted: 23 Feb 2013, 21:24
by fanthom
@gnimmelf

in short: boot porteus -> chroot to bodhi -> install grub again -> add porteus to grub config

if your bodhi installation is 64bit then you must use 64bit porteus, if 32bit then any porteus will work.

let's say your bodhi is on /dev/sda3 so chrooting part will look like:

Code: Select all

mount -o bind /dev /mnt/sda3/dev
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/sda3/proc
mount -o bind /sys /mnt/sda3/sys
chroot /mnt/sda3
now you are inside bodhi system so you can try to reinstall grub as you would do when running bodhi and not porteus (not sure about the commands)

after reboot you should get your grub menu back.
search our forum how to add porteus to grub config. you should find plenty of good examples.

Re: bootloader and more distros

Posted: 25 Feb 2013, 16:34
by gnimmelf
fanthom wrote:@gnimmelf

in short: boot porteus -> chroot to bodhi -> install grub again -> add porteus to grub config

if your bodhi installation is 64bit then you must use 64bit porteus, if 32bit then any porteus will work.

let's say your bodhi is on /dev/sda3 so chrooting part will look like:

Code: Select all

mount -o bind /dev /mnt/sda3/dev
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/sda3/proc
mount -o bind /sys /mnt/sda3/sys
chroot /mnt/sda3
now you are inside bodhi system so you can try to reinstall grub as you would do when running bodhi and not porteus (not sure about the commands)

after reboot you should get your grub menu back.
search our forum how to add porteus to grub config. you should find plenty of good examples.

Hm...... the good news is, I got my old bodhi back. :) reinstaling bohdi and running grub update from here.
but now porteus is gone? :unknown:
i ran the comand in my first post, but the grub didnt find porteus.
it seems hidden on the hard drive. (there is some gb`s missing if i run gparted to look)

any ideas? how is it possible to use porteus in dual boot? so i can choose between distros?

kind regards Gnimmelf

Re: bootloader and more distros

Posted: 27 Feb 2013, 11:36
by fanthom
@Gnimmelf

add porteus manually to grub config. there is more than dozen examples on the forum.
some threads are few days old...

Re: bootloader and more distros

Posted: 28 Feb 2013, 17:17
by gnimmelf
fanthom wrote:@Gnimmelf

add porteus manually to grub config. there is more than dozen examples on the forum.
some threads are few days old...
Hi there
yes i get that there is info to find, and i tried.
but i dont seem to find something that i understand :oops: i dont know what to look for.
could you be more specific on how to, or point directly at a specific thread explaining how? :)
you see, i picked up on a few commands i know how to use, but i dont understand how and why.... :pardon:

:) kindly Gnimmelf

Re: bootloader and more distros

Posted: 28 Feb 2013, 22:42
by fanthom
here is a good thread about grub2:
link
some porteus cheatcodes has changed so here is a quick sample for 2.0 (porteus ISO is unpacked to /mnt/sda2/32bit folder):

Code: Select all

menuentry "porteus v2.0" {
set root=(hd0,2)
linux /32bit/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/32bit
initrd /32bit/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
save it as /etc/grub.d/40_custom and run 'update-grub' as root to apply the changes.