low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Here you can post about your various experiences with PC hardware. You can also post about hardware that is not compatible with the linux kernel or not recommended for use with Porteus.
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Post#16 by Bogomips » 23 Sep 2017, 11:36

^ So, it looks like apart from cpu (2cores, add 50%) ~2.5 GHz, the resources seem to be in every way superior to mine. :)

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ sudo /usr/sbin/dmidecode -t 6
# dmidecode 3.0
Getting SMBIOS data from sysfs.
SMBIOS 2.5 present.

Handle 0x0006, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
        Socket Designation: A0
        Bank Connections: 0 1
        Current Speed: Unknown
        Type: Other Unknown EDO
        Installed Size: 1024 MB (Double-bank Connection)
        Enabled Size: 1024 MB (Double-bank Connection)
        Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0007, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
        Socket Designation: A1
        Bank Connections: None
        Current Speed: Unknown
        Type: Other Unknown EDO
        Installed Size: Not Installed
        Enabled Size: Not Installed
        Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0008, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
        Socket Designation: A2
        Bank Connections: None
        Current Speed: Unknown
        Type: Other Unknown EDO
        Installed Size: Not Installed
        Enabled Size: Not Installed
        Error Status: OK

Handle 0x0009, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
Memory Module Information
        Socket Designation: A3
        Bank Connections: None
        Current Speed: Unknown
        Type: Other Unknown EDO
        Installed Size: Not Installed
        Enabled Size: Not Installed
        Error Status: OK

guest@porteus:~$ sudo /sbin/fdisk -l /dev/sda
Disk /dev/sda: 232.9 GiB, 250059350016 bytes, 488397168 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0xe0239727

guest@porteus:~$ /sbin/lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 1.1 Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 USB 2.0 Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:07.0 Bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
Interestingly enough M$ are offering a surface pro 2017 with an i3, but the stores were not offering this, saying processing power insufficient to be of any practical use. (Again M$ crows about new Edge browser, specifically to run on tablet for win10, but they don't provide a user guide! (captive clientele). Now Edge on tablet has a third of display taken up by tab bar, and have no idea how to get rid of the bar or minimise it. Therefore just use PaleMoon which serves me good.)

Already described how box maximised in various topics. However the one major precaution is to keep Javascript on a tight leash, otherwise even when minimised, browser could be running a script of no use to user, but which will guzzle up cpu cycles and bring system to standstill. :evil: This requires turning on JS only when absolutely necessary, and thereafter stopping JS execution in all open tabs. And in the same vein setting up the hosts file should also help.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Post#17 by Bogomips » 30 Sep 2017, 13:12

Rounding Off
  1. Low Physical Memory Strategies
    • Using just 30% of ram. ramsize=30%

      Code: Select all

      guest@porteus:~$ df -h .
      Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
      aufs            262M   39M  224M  15% /
      
    • Swappiness

      Code: Select all

      guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
      10
      
    • Redirecting /tmp to Real Filesystem (See CLI Trivia last section of post Live Running for more details)
      cliexec=mount~--bind~/mnt/sdXy/Path/to/tmp~/tmp
  2. Software Stategy
    Activating kde5 after starting cinnamon. i.e. 003-kde5.xzm Most of kde apps becoming accessible. ;) This can also lead to fewer dependencies for usm to find, and consequently smaller modules. This setup allows making do with swap partition total of 645 MiB. (At the moment using 50% of swap. ram usage 77% of 872 MiB. Conky, Konsole, Kate, Nemo, PaleMoon windows open, Javascript not enabled.)
    • Low Physical Memory Restriction
      Normally able to have open or minimised: Nemo, Konsole, Kate, Conky(always open, serving to keep tabs on system usage when Javascript enabled), but as well can only run one of Browser or SMPlayer or LibreOffice. (Managed to run SimpleScreenRecorder with Browser in order to record embedded video.) Should cpu load reach 100% with Browser open and Javascript enabled, Magic SysRq is your friend: Alt+SysRq+f ;) to get Browser once more functioning.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5000
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Post#18 by francois » 30 Sep 2017, 20:21

@bogomips:
...the one major precaution is to keep Javascript on a tight leash ... ...This requires turning on JS only when absolutely necessary...
Thanks for taking some interest on this topic of mine. Sorry, for not providing some feedback. I have been quite occupied. I dig the question of java script on my side as well as I could, but without satisfactory solution. Is there some sort of java script blocker utility that you reccomend?

I am digesting your second post. I will come back on it. Meanwhile, I am trying to fix some scanning issues that I got recently on my current porteus installation. Building anew the os.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2562
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Post#19 by Bogomips » 01 Oct 2017, 00:37

francois wrote:
30 Sep 2017, 20:21
I dig the question of java script on my side as well as I could, but without satisfactory solution. Is there some sort of java script blocker utility that you reccomend?
There are quite a few JS toggles that one can search for. Difficult to find is Disallow Script Button https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... pt-button/ does it on a tab by tab basis, but sometimes one gets away! :x
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5000
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Post#20 by francois » 01 Oct 2017, 00:55

Working on my fastest laptop this weekend a 2012 box which reacts very fine for my needs with porteus:
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/pc-mac ... 590/review
Toshiba's Satellite Z930-10X is built around an Intel Core i5-3317U CPUand runs at a clock speed of 1.7GHz, or 2.6GHz

I will be back to take care of the old box during weekdays or if I get the latter going on fine, tomorrow.
Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5000
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

low ressource computer: your setup to maximize your box

Post#21 by francois » 13 Oct 2017, 01:44

Optimizing Linux for Slow Computers, a very good paper:
http://www.akitaonrails.com/2017/01/17/ ... -computers
Suggestions from the paper:
The great suspender to suspend activity of the non used tabs of the chrome browser:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... nakg?hl=en
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply