3.2rc5 and Chromium

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.

3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby jesmith » 19 Oct 2016, 21:40

I tried chromium-53.0.2785.92-i486-1alien (the 14.2 build) in 3.2rc5 and it's dying because it cannot find libavahi-common.so.3

Obviously, I can go hunt that and any dependencies it has down, but since chromium builds from http://www.slackware.com/~alien/slackbu ... romium/pkg were working clean out of the box before, I thought you might want to include that (and its dependencies) in 002-xorg.xzm

-Joshua
jesmith
Black ninja
Black ninja
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Jan 2012, 19:48
Location: USA

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby francois » 20 Oct 2016, 00:53

The process of getting or updating google-chrome is in a terminal. Building it from the usm package is more problematic:
Code: Select all
update-chrome

firefox:
Code: Select all
update-firefox

etc.

Try it its great. :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 4786
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:25
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby jesmith » 21 Oct 2016, 17:45

Unfortunately, I need to stay at 32-bit (I don't want to re-build the entire software stack I'm using), and that command says it only works with 64-bit.
jesmith
Black ninja
Black ninja
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Jan 2012, 19:48
Location: USA

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby Blaze » 21 Oct 2016, 18:22

jesmith, run these commands as root user
Code: Select all
su
toor
update-chrome
Linux porteus 4.11.2-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat May 20 19:06:02 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
User avatar
Blaze
Warlord
Warlord
 
Posts: 1205
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 12:31
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby brokenman » 21 Oct 2016, 22:34

This is from the chromium page:
https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/master/docs/linux_build_instructions.md

System requirements

64-bits: x86 builds are not supported on Linux.
Memory: >16GB is highly recommended.
Disk space: Expect a full checkout and build to take nearly 100GB.
Distribution: You should be able to build Chromium on any reasonably modern Linux distribution, but there are a lot of distributions and we sometimes break things on one or another. Internally, our development platform has been a variant of Ubuntu 14.04 (Trusty Tahr); we expect you will have the most luck on this platform.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5382
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 04:50
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby jesmith » 25 Oct 2016, 19:34

As I said at the top of this thread, I've been using chromium-52.0.2743.116-i486-1alien.xzm which is a 32-bit build that works just fine.

I get that they don't "officially" support it, but until it actually stops working, I'm not going to go rebuilding the rest of a mature and robust existing software stack to move to x64.
jesmith
Black ninja
Black ninja
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Jan 2012, 19:48
Location: USA

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby wread » 28 Oct 2016, 02:53

Here https://slackbuilds.org/result/?search=avahi&sv=14.2 you can make the module you are needing...
It contains the library libavahi-common.so.3 :)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 19:48
Location: Santo Domingo
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby alienbob » 04 Nov 2016, 21:48

My chromium packages DO NOT depend on avahi. If you get an error about missing libavahi then this is caused by a Slackware library which is needed by chromium and which you replaced with a 3rd-party precompiled version which DOES depend on avahi.
I'd suggest checking your system.
alienbob
White ninja
White ninja
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 17 Nov 2015, 22:06
Location: Eindhoven
Distribution: Slackware

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby burdi01 » 05 Nov 2016, 12:23

Using the Porteus-MATE-v3.2rc5-i586.iso dated Sep 4, 2016 as distributed (no patches, no saved files) I downloaded and instalpkg'ed the chromium-54-0.2840.90-i486-1alien.txz, chromium-pepperflash-plugin-23.0.0.205-i386-1alien.txz and chromium-widevine-plugin-48.0.2564.116-i386-1alien.txz packages.

Running "chromium" as user guest is OK: no complaints about libavahi or whatever.
Running "chromium --user-data-dir" as root fails with "[2591:2591:1105/114635:FATAL:setuid_sandbox_client.cc(126)] Check failed: IsFileSystemAccessDenied()." followed by "[2582:2582:1105/114635:FATAL:zygote_impl_linux.cc(196) Check failed: ReceiveFixedMessage(dfs[0], kZygoteHelloMessage, sizeof(kZygoteHelloMessage), &real_pid)."

An ldd scan of all (but a few) executables and libraries gave no hits for avahi.
:D
burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 13:09
Location: The Netherlands
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby francois » 05 Nov 2016, 14:54

I used to run chromium as root too. But was no more able to run root with the most recent versions, and I think that google purposedly had made it impossible. If you find the solution good for you.

Personally, I run chromium or google chrome guest within root environment with the following command:
Code: Select all
su -c chromium guest


If you really want to be able to use a browser in root mode, you can resort to the use of firefox.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 4786
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:25
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby brokenman » 06 Nov 2016, 18:06

Well, I wasn't even aware you could run chromium on 32bit. Apologies. I just installed alienbob's package and it runs nicely. As mentioned, no avahi required.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5382
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 04:50
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops

Re: 3.2rc5 and Chromium

Postby neko » 29 Dec 2016, 07:47

@jesmith

May be, you could use the Arch packages in Porteus 3.2 environment.
Therefore download "spm-16.12.24-noarch-1.xzm" and activate it.
ArchLinux packages manager for Porteus

GUI menu:
"archSPM commnans" ---->mkapl---->chromium

You will get chromium.xzm.
chromium-widevine-1:1.4.8.824-i686-1: Version is fixed. will not be updated.
Other packages/libraries are the latest versions at the created time.
(chromium-55.0.2883.87-i686-1: 2016.12.29)

This is chromium.xzm that was gotten by the above procedure.
chromium.xzm (75 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/5j0bfctqe ... romium.xzm
md5sum: 1c6684c4a0529244b648e9fddce1edc2 chromium.xzm


Thanks.
neko
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 816
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 10:55
Location: japan
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso


Return to Development



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest