Input device name - please post yours

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
vlekk
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Dec 2015, 03:15
Distribution: Too many to recall.
Location: Respawning . . .

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#16 by vlekk » 08 Dec 2015, 03:22

As requested ...

Code: Select all

grep "Name=" /proc/bus/input/devices
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Lid Switch"
N: Name="Sleep Button"
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
N: Name="ALPS PS/2 Device"
N: Name="AlpsPS/2 ALPS GlidePoint"
N: Name="Acer BMA150 accelerometer"
N: Name="HDA Intel Mic"
N: Name="HDA Intel Front Headphone"
N: Name="Video Bus"

--
vlekk

fullmoonremix

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#17 by fullmoonremix » 08 Dec 2015, 14:33

Salutations... :good:
grep "Name=" /proc/bus/input/devices

Code: Select all

N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Video Bus"
N: Name="  Mini Keyboard"
N: Name="  Mini Keyboard"
N: Name="ITE8713 CIR transceiver"
N: Name="HD-Audio Generic Mic"
N: Name="HD-Audio Generic Line Out"
N: Name="HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP,pcm=3"
N: Name="HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP,pcm=7"
N: Name="MCE IR Keyboard/Mouse (ite-cir)"

Best Regards... :beer:

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#18 by Rava » 24 Dec 2015, 14:04

Code: Select all

N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
N: Name="Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse"
N: Name="HDA Intel Rear Mic"
N: Name="HDA Intel Front Mic"
N: Name="HDA Intel Line"
N: Name="HDA Intel Line Out"
N: Name="HDA Intel Front Headphone"
(Most used system, ATM)

The others will follow as soon as I have them up and running.

I presume the info nemesis gives me is good enough for you, yes?

In case you wonder, I have no clue where a 2nd "Power Button" could be, since you would not call the Off Button from the Power supply a "Power Button" ?

Or is it exactly what the mainboard tells the system?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

aus9

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#19 by aus9 » 24 Dec 2015, 23:02

In case you wonder, I have no clue where a 2nd "Power Button" could be, since you would not call the Off Button from the Power supply a "Power Button" ?
Until you get a better reply I think it refers to the warm reset button. Pressing it turns off the system and then re-starts it.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5401
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: XFCE 5.01 x86_64 + 4.0 i586
Location: Forests of Germany

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#20 by Rava » 25 Dec 2015, 00:25

aus9 wrote:Until you get a better reply I think it refers to the warm reset button. Pressing it turns off the system and then re-starts it.
Well, maybe the mainboard has such "button" somewhere, but not the minitower , aka its case. That one only has the main on/off button, no "warm reset", at least not until I might figure out which pins that are and create my "own warm reset real-life button", so to speak. :)

But why should I, if Linux should crash, I have to do REISUP anyway. Image
Cheers!
Yours Rava

aus9

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#21 by aus9 » 25 Dec 2015, 02:06

Hi offtopic but it won't be a button more likely if it was an Asus it would be block of connectors.

Mine is called system panel connector for which the case normal power button is called ATX power button (but its not a button but a connector that you have leads going off the mobo to the button)
and the reset is called 2 pin reset

my block of connectors is in the corner of the mobo.

#######################
my old ECS mobo manual is even better in stating the block of connectors has 2 power switches and has 9 holes for connectors called Front panel header.

On that basis I think we can say most people do in fact have 2 power buttons even tho they may lack the connector to the case.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1857
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus and Nemesis
Location: USA

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#22 by Jack » 25 Dec 2015, 02:25

Compaq CQ50-217nr Laptop

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ grep "Name=" /proc/bus/input/devices
N: Name="Lid Switch"
N: Name="Sleep Button"
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Video Bus"
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
N: Name="SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
N: Name="HP WMI hotkeys"
N: Name="HDA NVidia Mic"
N: Name="HDA NVidia Headphone"
N: Name="HDA NVidia HDMI/DP,pcm=3 Phantom"
guest@porteus:~$ 
Sorry for the late reply.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3869
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Input device name - please post yours

Post#23 by Blaze » 25 Dec 2015, 08:03

At my job

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# grep "Name=" /proc/bus/input/devices
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="Power Button"
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
N: Name="ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse"
N: Name="HDA Intel PCH Front Mic"
N: Name="HDA Intel PCH Rear Mic"
N: Name="HDA Intel PCH Line"
N: Name="HDA Intel PCH Line Out"
N: Name="HDA Intel PCH Front Headphone"
N: Name="Eee PC WMI hotkeys"
N: Name="Video Bus"
N: Name="HDA Intel HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=3"
root@porteus:~#
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Post Reply