Page 7 of 13

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 11 Apr 2014, 21:24
by Rava
fanthom wrote:you should be able to redirect sound to HDMI in Smplayer/Gnome Mplayer preferences. this is what i do myself.
not sure how to do it for firefox, audio players and whole system sounds ...
I need it system wide, aka also for Firefox and audacious, and at times audacity...

I used to hack one file, with the additional try and error runs prior that...

Me thinks, all this should be compiled into a HOWTO here on this very site... Cause it took some googling and putting together info, and reading posts and howto pages to have it all in the end...

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 18 Apr 2014, 22:44
by Rava
USB aborst when trying to update the databases:

Code: Select all

 alien  database updated.
                               
 Starting salix database update 
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5  DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT  DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz  DONE
Downloading: OPTIFEST.gz  DONE 
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2  DONE                          
bunzip2: /var/usm/salix/MANIFEST.bz2 is not a bzip2 file.
 
                                                                              
==============================================================================
WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!        WARNING!      
==============================================================================
One or more errors occurred while usm was running:
            
FATAL ERROR!           
usm update_database 203           
Could not decompress: MANIFEST.bz2
                                                                              
==============================================================================

sh-4.2#
Since this is a fatal error, the database update stops here... :cry:

Seems, the file is a simple gz instead:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt# file /var/usm/salix/MANIFEST.bz2
/var/usm/salix/MANIFEST.bz2: gzip compressed data, from Unix, max speed

And why I try to get the other databases one by one (not using menu /Updates/Update all) I get this , e.g. trying to download ponce.cc database:

Code: Select all

sh-4.2#
After exiting and starting usmgui anew, this time again trying to update the single database files, it stops here:

Code: Select all

usm -u ponce
sh-4.2# usm -u ponce
 Starting ponce database update
Downloading: CHECKSUMS.md5.gz  DONE
Downloading: MANIFEST.bz2  DONE
Downloading: PACKAGES.TXT.gz  DONE
Downloading: LIBS.TXT.gz -->
Then, trying to update another database, I get the same error as above with the ponce.cc, just the empty sh-4.2 prompt but nothing happens.

It is possible to run e.g. "usm -u slacky" in an root terminal, though...

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 19 Apr 2014, 00:14
by Rava
Sadly, even after I created all databases, and trying to create a module (gimp, as in: gimp-2.8.6_x86_64-1.tgz)

I get this:

Code: Select all

Fatal error: LIBS.TXT
and

Code: Select all

Could not find LIBS.TXT
But why?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/var/usm# find . -name LIBS.TXT
./slacky/LIBS.TXT
./slackware/LIBS.TXT
./ponce/LIBS.TXT
./salix/LIBS.TXT
./alien/LIBS.TXT

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 19 Apr 2014, 18:02
by brokenman
Are you using Porteus v2.1 as your profile says?

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 21 Apr 2014, 09:45
by Rava
brokenman wrote:Are you using Porteus v2.1 as your profile says?
No, it's 3.0 x86-64 finale version...

____________________________________

What can be done so that Porteus not needs to update every time the system caches:

Code: Select all

Additional xzm modules have been found - updating system caches
Is it possible to include the modules I use all the time, like thunderbird?

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 24 Apr 2014, 01:17
by brokenman
I need to update the database which I will have time to do in two days.
What can be done so that Porteus not needs to update every time the system caches:
I don't understand what you mean here.

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 24 Apr 2014, 06:29
by Rava
brokenman wrote:I need to update the database which I will have time to do in two days.
Please do post in here an update status so we know when it's done. :)
brokenman wrote:What can be done so that Porteus not needs to update every time the system caches:
I don't understand what you mean here.
When booting, the system tells me

Code: Select all

Additional xzm modules have been found - updating system caches
I want to know if it is possible to create the wanted caches in advance. (So that it's no longer needed to do so with each bootup) Does Porteus use the names of the modules, or does it use md5sums of modules to determine if it needs to update system caches or not?

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 24 Apr 2014, 12:45
by brokenman
When you boot with extra modules inside the modules folder, Porteus needs to update the caches for the modules. The same as when you activate a module, or install a slackware package. This is so the items appear in the menus and other caches are updated.

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 24 Apr 2014, 20:31
by Rava
brokenman wrote:When you boot with extra modules inside the modules folder, Porteus needs to update the caches for the modules. The same as when you activate a module, or install a slackware package. This is so the items appear in the menus and other caches are updated.
So... there is no way to create these caches so that it's not needed at each bootime?

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 24 Apr 2014, 21:04
by fanthom
our system for updating caches is very smart - it checks additional modules for the presence of certain files and updates only specific caches when it's necessary.

i dont want users to start messing with this otherwise we get plenty of bug reports like 'squares instead of fonts'.
if you feel you are advanced enough then please have a look on /etc/rc.d/rc.S script.

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 24 Apr 2014, 22:01
by Rava
fanthom wrote:have a look on /etc/rc.d/rc.S script.
Thanks for the heads up. :)
fanthom wrote:if you feel you are advanced enough
Let's see about that... If it is a bit commented then I will easily find my way around...

And I promise not to file in bug reports.... hacking a system like so is kinda voiding any (non-existent) warranties... :D

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 29 Apr 2014, 08:07
by pchan
Using Porteus 3.0 on my msi u270 amd notebook.

Everything works fine. Except for bluetooth. But then i seldom use bluetooth and I don't know how to get it working even after reading the forum.

I seldom post here because my knowledge of computer and linux is very little.
But I do know that Porteus is one of the BEST operating system I have used.

I sometimes use X-Precise puppy linux and sometimes Porteus 3 XFCE.

I have tried ubuntu, xubuntu, zorin, bodhi but I always come back to puppy linux and now Porteus.

I am very impressed with the porteus modular system. It gets my computer working so quickly and installation of softwares was just a matter of activate or de activate. Boot speed is amazing! And root access was so convenient. Cheat codes makes it so flexible. The one thing that porteus can do that puppy linux cannot do (or I don't know how to do yet) is to place my "change / save" file anywhere I want and it doesn't have to be in the root folder or the system folder.

But puppy linux of course have tons of free softwares, thanks to the community of developers.

Anyway, both puppy linux and Porteus are now my favorite linus OS without bluetooth. In Puppy linux, I also never learnt how to get bluetooth working.

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 29 Apr 2014, 08:11
by pchan
Something just happened while I was typing the earlier post. Suddenly, while i was typing halfway, I could not type in any letters with my keyboard into the texbox. I wonder if this is the proble of Opera 12.6?

Another thing I want to ask is is there a way to get Chrome working under root? Chrome doesn't want to load up under root.

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 29 Apr 2014, 11:40
by wread
When left unattended for say 15 minutes my Toshiba Satellite crashes as soon as I move the mouse or press a key.
The process is so that I can see the Password window for a fraction of a second and then a black window and a cursor arrow....she is dead Jim! The rc version did the same, but there were no Password window.

I think that this is my system's fault. I have an old HP at home that does not crash under 3.0. Otherwise there were others complaining the same thing. :(

I tested it running bare: base_only, norootcopy and AF -without success-. :bad: The same USB runs ok in other machines. I will try running a memory test, this is an old laptop....

Any ideas??

Re: Porteus 3.0 final feedback

Posted: 29 Apr 2014, 13:42
by fanthom
Any ideas??
yes - please setup changes and provide log files after the crash. i wish to get whole /var/log or at least /var/log/messages.
thanks