grub2 menu entry

Non release banter
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#16 by Ed_P » 29 Oct 2017, 14:32

:o Sorry Blaze I wasn't expecting the language problem. Grub2Win works with many languages.

Do note the message does say that English is only needed for the install, there after Grub2Win runs with the system's native language. And it's possible to tailor the grub.cfg file manually so language should not be a problem, once it's installed. :)
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1499
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

grub2 menu entry

Post#17 by Blaze » 29 Oct 2017, 16:38

Ed_P, very simply to use EasyBCD - look at this, but it requires ISO file way, how in Grub2Win and Grub 2.
I used it early look at rhis post with LILO/eLILO bootloader.
After press Porteus in boot menu I have message with "Boot error", but if press any key - Porteus is boot up from my second drive.
On my 1st hard drive (sda1 - 500 mb) I have Windows 7 bootloader and on the second SSD (sdb1) I have Porteus with his bootloader.
Via EasyBCD I can able to boot Windows 7 from my 1st hard drive and Porteus from 2nd SSD via LILO/eLILO bootloader.
In both variant OS are installed on the different hard and ssd disks (I don't use ISO for boot up Porteus).
The only thing that annoys me is this message:
"Boot error"
then I choose Porteus and hit Enter, after press any key Porteus is boot up normal :magic:
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#18 by Ed_P » 29 Oct 2017, 23:45

If you have Porteus installed on sdb1 and are using EasyBCD why are you looking at grub2? Why can't you use the Entry #2 format in Alien's EasyBCD example? Something like:

Name: Porteus
BCD ID: (asshdkflldsjah...........)
Drive: D:\
Bootloader Path: \boot\syslinux\vmlinuz

hmmmmm but what about initrd. :%)

Yea might want to reconsider Grub2Win. ;)


---

https://www.iceflatline.com/2009/09/how ... g-bcdedit/
Ed

burdi01
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 63
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 12:09
Distribution: Slackware, Xubuntu
Location: The Netherlands

grub2 menu entry

Post#19 by burdi01 » 30 Oct 2017, 11:22

I thought that I can boot Porteus from my second hard drive - where Porteus is installed (not from ISO file). If it's not possible - grub 2 not for me.
Of course booting from a disk other than the first one is possible -- I amended my Oct 28, 2017 post to reflect this.
:D

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1499
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

grub2 menu entry

Post#20 by Blaze » 30 Oct 2017, 16:25

Ed_P wrote:
29 Oct 2017, 23:45
why are you looking at grub2?
For self-development Image
+ I don't like message with "Boot error"
Ed_P wrote:
29 Oct 2017, 23:45
Why can't you use the Entry #2 format in Alien's EasyBCD example?
If I right understand this is ISO mode run from hard disk.

I want to use bootloader with support of fully installed OS on different hard disks without ISO way.

This article How to Dual Boot Windows 7 and Linux using BCDEdit seems that I need Image Image
I will check it. Thanks.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#21 by Ed_P » 30 Oct 2017, 17:11

Blaze Grub2Win adds Grub2 to your Windows BCD boot menu, you can then use Grub2 to boot whatever you want, installs, hardrives or ISOs. Grub2Win currently supports English and 26 other languages. Where did you download Grub2Win from? The current version, https://sourceforge.net/projects/grub2w ... rce=navbar, should work for you.
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1499
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

grub2 menu entry

Post#22 by Blaze » 30 Oct 2017, 19:26

Ed_P, I tried BCDEdit

Code: Select all

Диспетчер загрузки Windows
--------------------
идентификатор           {bootmgr}
device                  partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume1
description             Windows Boot Manager
locale                  ru-RU
inherit                 {globalsettings}
default                 {current}
resumeobject            {6afa9901-bb4f-11e7-8772-b1f75b704503}
displayorder            {current}
                        {6afa9905-bb4f-11e7-8772-b1f75b704503}
toolsdisplayorder       {memdiag}
timeout                 10

Загрузка Windows
-------------------
идентификатор           {current}
device                  partition=C:
path                    \Windows\System32\xOsLoad.exe
description             Windows 7
locale                  ru-RU
inherit                 {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence        {6afa9903-bb4f-11e7-8772-b1f75b704503}
recoveryenabled         Yes
nointegritychecks       Yes
osdevice                partition=C:
systemroot              \Windows
kernel                  xNtKrnl.exe
resumeobject            {6afa9901-bb4f-11e7-8772-b1f75b704503}
nx                      OptIn

Загрузочный сектор реального режима
---------------------
идентификатор           {6afa9905-bb4f-11e7-8772-b1f75b704503}
device                  partition=C:
path                    \porteus.bin
description             "Porteus"
I have the same result, that in EasyBCD
Image Image

With your current version of Grub2Win
Image
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#23 by Ed_P » 30 Oct 2017, 20:33

Blaze temporarily install the English language, https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms930130.aspx, then run the Grub2Win setup.bat. Once Grub2 is installed, revert the Windows language back to Russian.

To help support Russian natively in the future please run the Diagnostics option on the Grub2Win main window, then send the c:\grub2\diagnose/zip file to drummerdp@users.sf.net. He is the author of Grub2Win and very supportive of it. 0419 should have worked for you.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#24 by Ed_P » 31 Oct 2017, 20:51

Blaze if you haven't followed the request above please download the latest Grub2win file, updated today, and run it. If it fails please post the error window again and run the Diagnostics option on the Grub2Win window. Zip up the resulting c:\grub2\diagnostic folder and mail it to Drummer at drummerdp@users.sf.net.
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1499
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

grub2 menu entry

Post#25 by Blaze » 01 Nov 2017, 19:20

Ed_P, done. I sent to him message with my:
Image
Image

C:\grub2\diagnose
diagnose.zip
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#26 by Ed_P » 01 Nov 2017, 20:15

Thank you Blaze. He will be surprised his fix didn't work and will figure out why and issue a fix soon.
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1499
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

grub2 menu entry

Post#27 by Blaze » 02 Nov 2017, 16:05

Message is ignored by sourceforge host

Code: Select all

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

  drummerdp@users.sf.net
    host mx.sourceforge.net [216.34.181.68]
    SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data:
    550 Blacklisted file extension detected

<drummerdp@users.sourceforge.net>: host mx.sourceforge.net[216.34.181.68] said:
    550 Blacklisted file extension detected (in reply to end of DATA command)

<drummerdp@users.sf.net>: host mx.sourceforge.net[216.34.181.68] said: 550
    Blacklisted file extension detected (in reply to end of DATA command
)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#28 by Ed_P » 02 Nov 2017, 17:05

Blaze I suspected as much. But last night I sent him the file you posted here to a different address and he got it.

For whatever reason the Russian language file he downloads from Microsoft and tests with is different than the 0419 language file you have in your Win 7 system. :%) What is the date of your ru-RU folder in c:\windows\system32?
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1499
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

grub2 menu entry

Post#29 by Blaze » 03 Nov 2017, 13:56

This is Trump system :matrix:

Code: Select all

14.07.2009 7:20:11
Image
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3316
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

grub2 menu entry

Post#30 by Ed_P » 04 Nov 2017, 06:01

Blaze, until Drummer comes up with a fix try the English language option for the install. That way you will have grub2 installed and can use it's menu system to boot alternate OSs, ISOs and non-ISOs. :happy62: :)
Ed

Post Reply