Page 2 of 5

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 11 Oct 2015, 16:13
by francois
@blaze:
pacman -Syu nvidia nvidia-utils nvidia-libgl libvdpau

The following errors are due to the fact that you do not have internet.

Try:

Code: Select all

ping www.google.com
Solution is in the first post of this thread:

Code: Select all

ip link
and from the info:

Code: Select all

dhcpcd ens0p3
@brokenman:
I have:
/etc/nemesis.conf
/mnt/sda1/boot/syslinux/nemesis.cfg

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 11 Oct 2015, 16:40
by Blaze
francois, i have internet Image
Look at this screenshot
Image
It reminded me 90x when i went to www via dial-up
and this cartoon Масяня (about dial-up disconnects) >>> Wath here

This cartoon is popular in Russia
Official web site of cartoon Масяня http://www.mult.ru/
francois wrote:I have:
/etc/nemesis.conf
/mnt/sda1/boot/syslinux/nemesis.cfg
I have too at
/etc/nemesis.conf
/mnt/sda5/nemesis/git/x86_64/iso/boot/syslinux/nemesis.cfg
and i have error
Blaze wrote:i tried to login via root account and received this error

Code: Select all

-bash: /etc/porteus.conf : No such file or directory
BTW when i boot up i have this error
Image
Probably need to add this line

Code: Select all

systemctl start dhcpcd
to a boot script of Nemesis

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 12 Oct 2015, 00:14
by brokenman
The references to porteus.conf could only be in the following files:
build/usr/lib/systemd/system/network-setup.service (EnvironmentFile=/etc/nemesis.conf)
build/root/.bash_profile (xargs systemctl --user set-environment < /etc/nemesis.conf)

I am rewriting the networking script now to use netctl which is a network manager. For now you can start dhcp manually. The errors about xorg are because the files already exist in the file system. Perhaps they exist in the files system but don't exist in /var/lib/pacman/local

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 12 Oct 2015, 01:46
by francois
@brokenman:
I understand that there is a network config, but really what difference does it make. How come nemesis with this script will not boot automatically?
Here are my network config settings:

I still have to do:

Code: Select all

dchcpd enp0s3
to have internet.

Code: Select all

### Network config file.
### Options listed here will be parsed at boot.
### Options must be listed one per line without space before them.

### This option means the file will be ignored at boot.
#Ignore=yes

### This option sets a wired or wireless network card. It is used to
### name the network profile when using static details.
Device=wired

### This option is the name of your network device. Please boot into
### the command line and issue: ip link
### This will show you the name of your network card. The wires card
### most probably starts with an 'e'. The wireless card probably starts
### with a 'w'.
DeviceName=enp0s3

### Choose if you want DHCP to automatically receive an ip address
### from a DHCP server on the network. Home routers usually supply this.
### If this option is chosen then all following options will be ignored.
### This option allows: yes,no,ipv4,ipv6
Dhcp=yes

### Set a custom ip address. This option requires a gateway option to be
### supplied. DHCP above must be commented out or it will overwrite.
#IpAddress=10.0.2.16/24

### Set the gateway for the network. Usually it will be the router
### address on a home network.
#Gateway=10.0.2.2

### Set you DNS servers. You can set multiple servers by putting one
### on each line.
#Dns=8.8.4.4
#Dns=8.8.8.8

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 12 Oct 2015, 02:09
by francois
In addition as I am testing under vbox. I would appreciate if you have them the linux-headers. I would feel a lot more comfortable to be able to work in a bigger window. After all vbox has drivers too.

But if this is too much to ask, I will try to make my linux headers by building a new kernel myself. However, I think that I am caught within a loop. If I have no kernel-headers, I do not have the equivalent of the development packages, thus I cannot build the headers.

Just writing this gave me the idea: I can build a custom kernel for linux-4.2.3. I imagine that the kernel-headers would be compatible with your nemesis kernel?

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 12 Oct 2015, 03:02
by brokenman
I understand that there is a network config, but really what difference does it make. How come nemesis with this script will not boot automatically?
This config is read during boot so people can setup their network before booting. Since nemesis is all packed into modules, it makes sense (in my head) to have config files available outside of the modules or easy access. The single reason you don't have internet at boot is because systemctl start dhcp is not being run. Fixing this is trivial. Once inside vbox just run: systemctl enable dhcpcd

You will then see the symlink that is created. This symlink needs to be created in your build folder before packing 001 module. In any case I will push updates that make this redundant shortly.

Crippled kernel sources and headers are here
After building 001 module all app headers are in the export folder.

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 12 Oct 2015, 03:35
by francois
Sorry. You are right systemctl start dhcpcd works now for me. It did not before. It was in the last version of nemesis.iso. :oops:

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 20 Oct 2015, 18:40
by Blaze
I tried nemesis-v1.1.1-151013-x86_64.iso on 16Gb MMC card.
I did a photos of errors. Look at this archive screenshots_nemesis-v1.1.1-151013-x86_64.rar

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 20 Oct 2015, 21:39
by brokenman
Thanks Blaze. I will release another ISO this weekend.

EDIT: Uploaded new ISO. See Changelog section.

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 22 Oct 2015, 22:51
by brokenman
Tonight I installed 002 and 003-xfce without any errors. Everything seems functional.

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 23 Oct 2015, 18:14
by Blaze
Funny wizard in text mode. For myself, i don't found nothing in this wizard.

I have failed on startx :D
My logs logs-nemesis-23.10.2015.zip
My video card is Nvidia GeForce 8600 GT
Probably i choosed not correct driver with nvidia 340.xx series and i need to choose mesa-libgl or nvidia-libgl
Any suggesions are welcome.

And how to run xfce (via command startxfc4)?

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 23 Oct 2015, 22:29
by brokenman
Probably i choosed not correct driver with nvidia 340.xx series and i need to choose mesa-libgl
I chose mesa-libgl but also installed the xorg-drivers in full.

You can start xfce like this:

Code: Select all

echo "exec startxfce4" > ~/.xinitrc
startx
What do you mean that you found nothing in the wizard? Does it set up your timezone and network etc?
The languages are not translated yet so everything is in english.

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 23 Oct 2015, 22:38
by beny
hi blaze better for you 304.128 if you install the kernel crippled and header you can pull out the video driver with change-time option if i have see well i have to try the new iso yet ps: do not install the 32 bit lib the build fail if you choose it

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 24 Oct 2015, 11:54
by wread

Re: Nemesis: testers needed

Posted: 24 Oct 2015, 12:06
by brokenman
I see active development with communication between users and upstream. This is not a good thing? You can resist only so long my friend, but eventually it will come. I have the feeling though that you have never taken the time to try it. Last night I built cinnamon, systemd, pulse, everything. Under 300Mb. Please you can like it or not, but don't flame in here.