How to get it. [README FIRST] and discussion

Arch based Porteus community project
User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#46 by brokenman » 03 Dec 2015, 21:40

Sorry Jack. I built 32bit last weekend but it didn't boot and I didn't have time to research why. I believe Neko remixed a 32bit of Nemesis. I will try again next week when I have extra time (holidays yaaay).
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 954
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#47 by neko » 05 Dec 2015, 04:11

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.3-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (297 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso (297 M)

md5sum: 3baf940e461bb6fd0dc718672e9a912c porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso
http://www.mediafire.com/download/q85f7 ... 3-i486.iso
Thanks.


P.S.
It is better to get "i486.iso" that will be offered by brokenman.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1172
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#48 by Jack » 09 Dec 2015, 02:44

neko wrote:porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.3-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (297 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso (297 M)

md5sum: 3baf940e461bb6fd0dc718672e9a912c porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso
http://www.mediafire.com/download/q85f7 ... 3-i486.iso
Thanks.


P.S.
It is better to get "i486.iso" that will be offered by brokenman.
I just downloaded the iso and I'll get back after I try it out. I do have a Server 2 cpu and 32gb of memory I will try the 64 bit version out to. I don't think brokenman has a 32 bit version out yet.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

aus9

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#49 by aus9 » 09 Dec 2015, 23:15

low priority

Can we delete v3.2 from the repo please?
I am kinda of getting excited for waiting for next release.
:friends:

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1172
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#50 by Jack » 11 Dec 2015, 19:49

Jack wrote:
neko wrote:porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.3-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (297 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso (297 M)

md5sum: 3baf940e461bb6fd0dc718672e9a912c porteus-nemesis-v3.3-i486.iso
http://www.mediafire.com/download/q85f7 ... 3-i486.iso
Thanks.


P.S.
It is better to get "i486.iso" that will be offered by brokenman.
I just downloaded the iso and I'll get back after I try it out. I do have a Server 2 cpu and 32gb of memory I will try the 64 bit version out to. I don't think brokenman has a 32 bit version out yet.
Well what I seen so far it runs great I didn't see any problem with it. You did a great job. I would like the Mate version of Porteus maybe it will be soon.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

imota
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 09:01
Distribution: x-tahr
Location: yu

nemesis 3.3 on hp pavillion

Post#51 by imota » 12 Dec 2015, 09:08

thanks !!!

nemesis 3.3 on hp pavillion 8 gb ram, 750 gb hdd 64 bit

the new iso can "see" only 4.6 gb of ram

can you make that can "see" whole 8 gb of ram?

regards.

aus9

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#52 by aus9 » 12 Dec 2015, 12:24

@imota

I have a tower Nemesis 64 bit 8G RAM and my result is good

Code: Select all

cat /proc/meminfo | grep MemTotal
MemTotal:        7863792 kB
There is of course the possibility you bought something thinking you were getting 8 but were scammed but can you show the output to topline command please?

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1215
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#53 by donald » 12 Dec 2015, 13:36

@ aus9
"grep" is sufficient.,...no need to use cat and pipe..

Code: Select all

grep MemTotal /proc/meminfo
..sorry, I couldn't resist.. :friends:

aus9

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#54 by aus9 » 12 Dec 2015, 13:47

my pleasure
:friends:

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 954
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#55 by neko » 25 Dec 2015, 16:10

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso was converted from porteus-nemesis-v3.4-x86_64.iso.

It is not yet slim down. It is big (343 M).
And it might have many issues.

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso (343 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/0n255 ... 4-i486.iso
md5sum: 51d704e86c73d90ec52348b20ec720b6 porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso

Thanks.


P.S.
'initrd.xz' was integrated.
Porteus V3.1 version (original version),
Porteus V3.1 FVWM version ('.tgz' files will be expanded), and
Porteus nemesis V3.4 version

neko
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 954
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#56 by neko » 26 Dec 2015, 21:19

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso was updated to porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso.

WiFi NG bug was fixed.

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso (343 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/7a9y8 ... i486-2.iso
md5sum: 450df1ca40565bd5e4436441c15dfe3e porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso

Thanks.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1172
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#57 by Jack » 27 Dec 2015, 03:59

neko wrote:porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486.iso was updated to porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso.

WiFi NG bug was fixed.

porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso (343 M)
http://www.mediafire.com/download/7a9y8 ... i486-2.iso
md5sum: 450df1ca40565bd5e4436441c15dfe3e porteus-nemesis-v3.4-i486-2.iso

Thanks.
Can I just copy the porteus/base/modules from the ISO to the porteus/base/modules to the USB Stick? Or just redo the USB Stick all together?
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Michele13
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 56
Joined: 18 Aug 2013, 10:23
Distribution: Based on Debian and Slackware
Location: Italy

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#58 by Michele13 » 27 Dec 2015, 12:27

Still waiting to try the 32-bit version...I managed to find it, but as the download link hasn't been published yet on this thread i don't know if I should use it :)

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5542
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#59 by brokenman » 27 Dec 2015, 15:36

Feel free to use it but be warned that consekit is not functioning fully. You will need to shutdown from a root console. Also you may have trouble using pacman. I had to downgrade some core components due to dependencies. Next version will switch to manjaro and seems much more stable and up to date. I will release the 32bit along with the 64bit.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1172
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: How to get it. [README FIRST]

Post#60 by Jack » 27 Dec 2015, 17:41

Michele13 wrote:Still waiting to try the 32-bit version...I managed to find it, but as the download link hasn't been published yet on this thread i don't know if I should use it :)
I'm still doing testing on brokenman and neko of the 32bit version of Arch. I will get back soon.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Post Reply