Desktop Panel Replacement

Get help with LXQt specific problems
Post Reply
User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Desktop Panel Replacement

Post#1 by blue4meridian » 02 Apr 2015, 17:47

Salutations... :good:

...:unknown:
If I install KWin (window manager) and wBar (application dock)
then remove LxQt (panel?)... will I have a new desktop or a bricked (hosed) one?

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by blue4meridian on 06 Aug 2015, 02:54, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#2 by francois » 02 Apr 2015, 23:08

Just try it. :wink:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#3 by blue4meridian » 08 Jul 2015, 20:41

Salutations... :good:

I finally set up LxQt/Compiz (Kwin?).
It didn't hose LxQt but I'm having problems setting up "tint2" taskbar/panel. :wall:
My intention is to disable LxPanel and use tint2 and wBar.

Best Regards... :beer:

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#4 by francois » 09 Jul 2015, 21:55

And what about your friend google. As there are few information about lxqt you can try lxde as keyword instead. I will be glad to read your progress. I know nothing about compiz.

Note:
How should I ask questions linux wise or on porteus forum:
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#5 by phhpro » 02 Aug 2015, 23:53

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:18, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#6 by blue4meridian » 03 Aug 2015, 08:43

Salutations... :good:

Tint2 it a task/menu panel... wbar is a launcher. :wink:
My idea is to use 'tint2' as a 'hidden' HUD on top.
With wbar on the bottom to launch popular apps.

Because lxpanel doesn't 'hide' (yet?)... :wall:
I'm trying to use tint2 (it can be hidden) and wbar to replace it.



Best Regards... :beer:

sean
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 144
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 02:30
Distribution: Porteus v3.0 LXDE i486
Location: South Central PA, USA

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#7 by sean » 03 Aug 2015, 12:22

@blue4meridian,

To hide LXPanel, /Panel Preferences/Advanced/Automatic hiding

check Minimize panel when not in use

Sean

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#8 by blue4meridian » 04 Aug 2015, 09:05

Salutations... :good:

Sorry... :oops: I meant LxQt panel.

Best Regards... :beer:

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#9 by phhpro » 04 Aug 2015, 20:58

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:15, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#10 by blue4meridian » 04 Aug 2015, 22:33

Salutations... :good:

Hmmm... Mate panel? Sounds like a plan. :wink:
Actually... I'm not trying to use 2 panels I'm trying to replace LxQt panel.

Best Regards... :beer:

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: Depreciated Loadout (...cut out the middleman?)

Post#11 by phhpro » 05 Aug 2015, 21:12

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 03:14, edited 1 time in total.

dhinds
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 26 Sep 2013, 14:00
Distribution: Xorg
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco Mexico

Re: Desktop Panel Replacement

Post#12 by dhinds » 09 Aug 2015, 00:34

I use the Tint2 Panel above and the Xfce4-panel below on my Openbox Distros (Arch and Debian based).

The LX DE's (LXDE & LXQt) use Openbox and both Xfce and the LX DE's are modular so I assume it would work.

I am downloading an LXQt build to try it and will report on the results here.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Desktop Panel Replacement

Post#13 by blue4meridian » 12 Aug 2015, 02:44

Salutations... :good:

@ dhinds... sounds like a plan. I hope it works. It would be better than waiting forever for the LxQt devs.

Best Regards... :beer:

Posted by 100.1.102.215 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

Post Reply