I don't understand...

Please post in this category if you are extremely unhappy with Porteus.
WARNING: This section may contain strong language.
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2545
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I don't understand...

Post#16 by Bogomips » 26 Jan 2017, 19:56

movobojo wrote: - disable HDD
Is this maybe what you want? Boot parameter (cheatcode) nohd Useful Russian Link

P.S. When you find the Cinnamon bug, please post here CINNAMON or under viewtopic.php?f=117&t=6519. Thought I had tried Paint in a KDE5 RC, and was OK. Just now tried and it is loading but not starting.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

movobojo
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jan 2017, 16:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Slovakia

Re: I don't understand...

Post#17 by movobojo » 26 Jan 2017, 23:00

Bogomips wrote:
movobojo wrote: - disable HDD
Is this maybe what you want? Boot parameter (cheatcode) nohd Useful Russian Link
...
I need boot Porteus from USB stick, but I need "invisible" internal HDD so possible malicious virus cannot touch data on my internal HDD or can it? I guess I need "destroy" HDD "support" in kernel??
Bogomips wrote:...
P.S. When you find the Cinnamon bug, please post here CINNAMON or under viewtopic.php?f=117&t=6519. Thought I had tried Paint in a KDE5 RC, and was OK. Just now tried and it is loading but not starting.
So should I post all the bugs in that topic or it is enough I mentioned the bugs here? I am totally new in this forum and I do not know conventions.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1386
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: I don't understand...

Post#18 by Blaze » 27 Jan 2017, 14:42

movobojo wrote:I need boot Porteus from USB stick, but I need "invisible" internal HDD
In terminal run these commands

Code: Select all

su
toor
echo "sed -i 's|,comment=x-gvfs-show||/g' /etc/fstab" >> /etc/rc.d/rc.local
and reboot your system.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

movobojo
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jan 2017, 16:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Slovakia

Re: I don't understand...

Post#19 by movobojo » 27 Jan 2017, 23:40

Blaze, it works but only for 66.6 %, because I had 3 partitions on my HDD, but the last one is still fully accessible.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2545
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I don't understand...

Post#20 by Bogomips » 27 Jan 2017, 23:52

movobojo wrote:So should I post all the bugs in that topic or it is enough I mentioned the bugs here? I am totally new in this forum and I do not know conventions.
Please see viewtopic.php?f=81&t=5524 and viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3318
movobojo wrote:- I found no bugs in Xfce, it was just my poor knowledge
Think it is better that you post under the desktop for the issue you have, so that you can get help with any difficulty you are having. It is better if what you have already mentioned is once more posted so that all the issues are together in the one place.

Very much doubt there is any defence against a determined virus, without going to extraordinary lengths to prevent it. Maybe you can reach a level of security if you are able to disable the HDD from the BIOS. :Search:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

movobojo
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jan 2017, 16:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Slovakia

Re: I don't understand...

Post#21 by movobojo » 31 Jan 2017, 17:27

In "Always Fresh" mode everything is always fast (boot, shut down, response time), but when I use "Graphics Mode" everything is often frozen. Something is wrong. It is one week I am playing with Porteus, and I still cannot normally use it. I am running it on 16 GB USB stick formatted as ext4, I did not make any big changes. Maybe some cheatcodes can help? I never used a one...

movobojo
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jan 2017, 16:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Slovakia

Re: I don't understand...

Post#22 by movobojo » 31 Jan 2017, 17:49

I used cheatcode "EXIT", but I am not sure it help.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: I don't understand...

Post#23 by Ed_P » 31 Jan 2017, 19:47

movobojo wrote:I used cheatcode "EXIT",.
As in changes=EXIT; ? That is only for drive formats other then ext and you said you're using ext4.

What is your output of

Code: Select all

ls /porteus/modules/
Ed

pauleus
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Nov 2016, 03:50
Distribution: Mint
Location: US

Re: I don't understand...

Post#24 by pauleus » 31 Jan 2017, 20:43

Bogomips wrote: Very much doubt there is any defence against a determined virus, without going to extraordinary lengths to prevent it. Maybe you can reach a level of security if you are able to disable the HDD from the BIOS.
When HDD disable in BIOS. I think PC just turn off for boot & DOS, but linux still see it.

To turn off in kernel, use parameter: libata.force=1.00:disable

Like here with port SATA0, where HD is plugged...

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# uname -a
Linux porteus 4.9.0-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Dec 18 16:24:27 Local time zone must be set-- i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

root@porteus:~# cat /proc/cmdline
quiet initrd=initrd.xz copy2ram noauto noswap noeject libata.force=1.00:disable BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 

root@porteus:~# dmesg | grep ata
[    0.141022] libata version 3.00 loaded.
[    0.370134] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xdffffc00 port 0xdffffd00 irq 20
[    0.370137] ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xdffffc00 port 0xdffffd80 irq 20
[    0.370139] ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xdffffc00 port 0xdffffe00 irq 20
[    0.370141] ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m1024@0xdffffc00 port 0xdffffe80 irq 20
[    0.370253] ata_piix 0000:00:1f.1: version 2.13
[    0.371974] scsi host4: ata_piix
[    0.373163] scsi host5: ata_piix
[    0.373233] ata5: PATA max UDMA/100 cmd 0x1f0 ctl 0x3f6 bmdma 0xffa0 irq 14
[    0.373235] ata6: PATA max UDMA/100 cmd 0x170 ctl 0x376 bmdma 0xffa8 irq 15
[    0.381257] ata6: port disabled--ignoring
[    0.538606] ata5.00: ATAPI: _NEC DVD_RW ND-3520A, 1.04, max UDMA/33
[    0.543246] ata5.00: configured for UDMA/33
[    0.677353] ata1: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
[    0.677369] ata2: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
[    0.680097] ata1.00: FORCE: horkage modified (disable)
[    0.680098] ata1.00: unsupported device, disabling
[    0.680100] ata1.00: disabled
Then nothing touch it. :)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: I don't understand...

Post#25 by Ed_P » 01 Feb 2017, 15:27

pauleus wrote:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# cat /proc/cmdline
quiet initrd=initrd.xz copy2ram noauto noswap noeject libata.force=1.00:disable BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 
:shock: libata.force= BOOT_IMAGE=

Where are you finding these cheatcodes?? :Search:
Ed

pauleus
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 10
Joined: 17 Nov 2016, 03:50
Distribution: Mint
Location: US

Re: I don't understand...

Post#26 by pauleus » 01 Feb 2017, 17:43

Ed_P wrote: Where are you finding these cheatcodes?? :Search:
BOOT_IMAGE is automatic porteus thing. I don't add that.

libata.force is parameter to modify libata module action. All kernel have it.
I need to do same as OP and search for way. Probably found it on superuser board or something.
Google is good friend for me like that. 8)

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2545
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I don't understand...

Post#27 by Bogomips » 02 Feb 2017, 02:26

Ed_P wrote:As in changes=EXIT; ? That is only for drive formats other then ext and you said you're using ext4.
EXIT:/Path/to/<Parent of Changes Folder>. Directory where Changes Folder [will be]made for ext2/3/4, reiserfs, xfs, xxxfs if I remember offhand. :roll:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: I don't understand...

Post#28 by Ed_P » 02 Feb 2017, 05:06

Bogomips wrote:
Ed_P wrote:As in changes=EXIT; ? That is only for drive formats other then ext and you said you're using ext4.
EXIT:/Path/to/<Parent of Changes Folder>. Directory where Changes Folder [will be]made for ext2/3/4 & reiserfs, if I remember offhand. :roll:
Really!! I've never used it that way.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2545
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: I don't understand...

Post#29 by Bogomips » 02 Feb 2017, 14:55

Ed_P wrote:Really!! I've never used it that way.
Believe it's the permissions issue, which is why need file to contain linux FS on win$oze FS.
Last Changes foray:

Code: Select all

from=/tmp/iso/Por-KDE4-v3.1-3.18.21-i486.iso copy2ram ramsize=30% noauto changes=/dev/sda4 changes-ro
Live & Learn :wink:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

movobojo
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 35
Joined: 24 Jan 2017, 16:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2
Location: Slovakia

Re: I don't understand...

Post#30 by movobojo » 02 Feb 2017, 18:52

Ed_P wrote:
movobojo wrote:I used cheatcode "EXIT",.
As in changes=EXIT; ? That is only for drive formats other then ext and you said you're using ext4.

What is your output of

Code: Select all

ls /porteus/modules/
In boot menu I press TAB key, and I write " exit" (with space separator).

How do you know the "exit" cheatcode is not for ext4? I did not read that anywhere.

Directory "modules" is empty I think:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su 
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /porteus/modules/
/bin/ls: cannot access '/porteus/modules/': No such file or directory
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
or

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# cd ..
root@porteus:/home# cd ..
root@porteus:/# ls
bin/  etc/   lib/    mnt/  proc/  run/   srv/  tmp/  var/
dev/  home/  media/  opt/  root/  sbin/  sys/  usr/
root@porteus:/# cd mnt
root@porteus:/mnt# ls
live/  sda1/  sda2/  sda3/  sdb1/  sdc/
root@porteus:/mnt# cd sdc
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc# ls
USB_INSTALLATION.txt  boot/  lost+found/  porteus/
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc# cd porteus
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc/porteus# ls
base/     make_iso.sh  optional/              rootcopy/
changes/  modules/     porteus-v3.2-i586.sgn
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc/porteus# cd modules
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc/porteus/modules# ^C
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc/porteus/modules# ls
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc/porteus/modules# ls
root@porteus:/mnt/sdc/porteus/modules# 

Post Reply