[Solved]no possible root with su

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Forum rules
Porteus Kiosk section of the forum is unmaintained now. Its kept in a 'read only' mode for archival purposes.
Please use the kiosk contact page for directing your queries: https://porteus-kiosk.org/contact.html
wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

[Solved]no possible root with su

Post#1 by wsteven » 02 Sep 2013, 14:55

Hi, posting here as with a brand new install I got the same thing.

I modified only :

Code: Select all

Option "DontVTSwitch"
and inittab to be able to log on a shell.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# su guest
guest@porteus:/root$ su root
Password:
su: Incorrect password
guest@porteus:/root$
Any idea why busybox's su can't access shadow/passwd?
Last edited by wsteven on 17 Oct 2013, 08:55, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: no possible root with su

Post#2 by fanthom » 02 Sep 2013, 15:28

Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: no possible root with su

Post#3 by wsteven » 03 Sep 2013, 07:01

In rootcopy, I only have my new inittab for shell access :

Code: Select all

#
# inittab	This file describes how the INIT process should set up
#		the system in a certain run-level.

# Default runlevel.
id:4:initdefault:

# System initialization.
si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.S

# Script to run when going multi user.
rc:2345:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc.M

# What to do at the "Three Finger Salute".
#ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t5 -r now

# Runlevel 0 halts the system.
l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc.0

# Runlevel 6 reboots the system.
l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc.6

# Standard console login:
c1::respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux
#c2::respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux

# Start /etc/rc.d/rc.4 to get into GUI:
x1:4:respawn:/etc/rc.d/rc.4

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: no possible root with su

Post#4 by fanthom » 03 Sep 2013, 17:41

In rootcopy, I only have my new inittab for shell access
ok but you must put your modified /etc/shadow into 003-settings.xzm module. for example you could use this line (replace original one) to login with 'toor' password:

Code: Select all

root:$1$MKy0eqPM$auerQwMpGYcqgBqVddkfO/:9804:0:::::
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: no possible root with su

Post#5 by wsteven » 04 Sep 2013, 14:43

But I don't have a modified shadow file...
Rewrote my root password in case, but no change, su stills tells me wrong password. Checked my shadow file on my kiosk and password is ok.

Can anyone try

Code: Select all

su - guest; su 


And tell me if he can get back to root?

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: no possible root with su

Post#6 by fanthom » 04 Sep 2013, 16:16

ok - i finally get what the issue is about :)
guest has no perms to use 'su'. in order for getting back to the root account you have to use 'exit' command or press 'ctrl+d'.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Geroldka
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 09:18
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Switzerland

Re: no possible root with su

Post#7 by Geroldka » 05 Sep 2013, 08:03

.... or you start as root AND installed "sudo module" the command visudo

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: no possible root with su

Post#8 by wsteven » 05 Sep 2013, 10:58

fanthom wrote:ok - i finally get what the issue is about :)
guest has no perms to use 'su'. in order for getting back to the root account you have to use 'exit' command or press 'ctrl+d'.
Hi,
yes, how can I give guest this right?

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: no possible root with su

Post#9 by wsteven » 05 Sep 2013, 11:06

Geroldka wrote:.... or you start as root AND installed "sudo module" the command visudo
I did already, but sudo hasn't got this right either

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6434
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus nemesis
Location: Le printemps, le printemps, le printemps... ... l'hiver s'essoufle.

Re: no possible root with su

Post#10 by francois » 05 Sep 2013, 11:12

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:/root/Downloads/scid_vs_pc-4.10$ exit
exit
root@porteus:~/Downloads/scid_vs_pc-4.10#
Prendre son temps, profiter de celui qui passe.

Geroldka
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 09:18
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Switzerland

Re: no possible root with su

Post#11 by Geroldka » 05 Sep 2013, 11:27

wsteven wrote:
Geroldka wrote:.... or you start as root AND installed "sudo module" the command visudo
I did already, but sudo hasn't got this right either
maybe you should read man sudo

have a look:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# su - guest
guest@porteus:~$ su -
Passwort: 
root@porteus:~# su - guest
guest@porteus:~$ su - root
Passwort: 
root@porteus:~# exit
Abgemeldet
guest@porteus:~$ exit
Abgemeldet
root@porteus:~# exit
Abgemeldet
guest@porteus:~$
it really works proper.
Changing user with su and without a name will "switch user" always to root.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: no possible root with su

Post#12 by wsteven » 05 Sep 2013, 12:22

Hi, interesting!
Are you using Kiosk edition? As fantom said, su shouldn't have this right :%)

User avatar
fanthom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5666
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: no possible root with su

Post#13 by fanthom » 05 Sep 2013, 14:27

how can I give guest this right?
guest should never get the right to use 'su' in kiosk. why? because there is no need for this and we are actually doing our best to prevent this.
i find that some people are trying to convert kiosk into something what it was never intended to be. sorry but i wont be supporting this.

moving thread to 'User's modifications to the Kiosk ISO' category. you can continue discussion here.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Geroldka
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 28 Aug 2013, 09:18
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Switzerland

Re: no possible root with su

Post#14 by Geroldka » 06 Sep 2013, 07:45

wsteven wrote:Hi, interesting!
Are you using Kiosk edition? As fantom said, su shouldn't have this right :%)
Holy sh**, da***, I am sorry.
No, I am not in the kiosk but in normal :-( My fault.

wsteven
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 40
Joined: 21 Aug 2013, 10:01
Distribution: lubuntu
Location: Rennes

Re: no possible root with su

Post#15 by wsteven » 06 Sep 2013, 11:11

Yes, obviously, people want different things, which may not be the same as you. That's why we use linux, because we can do whatever suits us.
What I do understand though is that you don't want to work on this case :)
My kiosks should have a shell, because admins should be able to access command line in case for example system didn't get an IP. Which happens quite often in my configuration, didn't get really why yet (maybe my virtual environment?). But I don't want guests to be able to get root access in case they managed to guess key combination to popup xterm.
Thanks anyway, I'll manage something ^^

Locked