Kiosk config that selects a video card?

Here you can post about the issues related to modifications performed manually (not through the kiosk wizard). Example: swapped kernel, added 3rd party modules or files.
Please describe in detail what has been changed and hopefully other kiosk user will be able to help.
Porteus team wont resolve bugs posted in this category as we support only modifications made by the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
ajames
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 May 2017, 15:26
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 64-bit
Location: Oroville, CA

Kiosk config that selects a video card?

Post#1 by ajames » 16 May 2017, 21:30

I have a Dell M6600 that has a messed up AMD video card. It also has a working video output from the motherboard. Is there any way to configure a kiosk to run off the lesser video card? I am considering opening the laptop and removing the AMD video card, but this could save me hours of work.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Kiosk config that selects a video card?

Post#2 by fanthom » 17 May 2017, 06:33

Hello ajames,

Can you disable faulty GPU in the BIOS/EFI firmware settings (or at least set GPU priority there)? If not then perhaps a custom build would be necessary to blacklist the driver for this card.

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply