first experience

Get help with KDE4 specific problems
Post Reply
oui
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Feb 2013, 17:53
Distribution: SliTaz
Location: earth

first experience

Post#1 by oui » 12 Sep 2016, 20:51

according to this advertising at distrowatch.com , I did download the KDE5-64 iso and start it with grub with following grub.cfg lines:

Code: Select all

menuentry "Porteus ISO" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root=(hd0,6)
set isofile="/ym/depot/isos&gzs/Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso"
search --no-floppy --file --set=root $isofile
loopback loop $isofile
linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$isofile
initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
it starts immediately without any problem and a wonderful KDE5 environment did appear :Bravo:

I did find 2 calculators :%) (why? g und k!)

but no browser so I did restart and I am now in LazyPup Unicorn (starting with kde4.sfs containing konqueror, kate, okular, as well as gwenview, made out the packages of Slax by my compatriot Jejjy) and use now Xombrero to write those lines :crazy: as it works better as konqueror (about same feeling as firefox/seamonkey/palemoon, but secure and never needing any actualisation because that... my other compatriot Julien Lavergne did select Xombrero as the actual main developer of Lubuntu minimal; Xombrero works perfect in SliTaz, a few byte over the base managing TazWeb as well as Midori, it is the best browser for people making heavy jobs in graphic and drawing as you can really use all the surface of the screen, each millimeter!).

KDE5 without any surfing app, that is of course not really fine...

what is to do to get more (for example xombrero as it is smart, totaly secure, and needs never or really rarely some actualization! And, of course an operable version of libflashplayer (not always easy to makre really operable in KDE environment depending of browser)? A hunspell for English, French and German would probably also be useful, as, as you probably see in that message, my orthography is not really terrible :Yahoo!: !

how to remaster after that the iso including browser, libflashplugin and hunspell?

kind regards
Last edited by oui on 13 Sep 2016, 12:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4984
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: first experience

Post#2 by francois » 13 Sep 2016, 01:19

Welcome to porteus.

Distrowatch is pointing not a final release but a release candidate. This is why you have missing features.

To get a browser try:

Code: Select all

update-chrome
update-firefox
update-palemoon
To get additional packages use kde panel > system > usm
or in command line root mode:

Code: Select all

su
guest
usm -h
usm -u usm
usm -u all
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

oui
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Feb 2013, 17:53
Distribution: SliTaz
Location: earth

Re: first experience

Post#3 by oui » 13 Sep 2016, 12:00

Hi françois (it also my name :wink: ),

Thank you

I was possible to build palemoon.

but not using su.

instead su it is possible to use sudo under guest

Code: Select all

sudo update-palemoon
.

sudo usm -h will be accepted but not sudo usm -u usm or usm -u all

error message installpkg and removepkg

usm-gui doesn't accept the password.

sudo usm-gui would probably start but same problem (no installpkg / removepkg).

What is to do to start the build package?

A thing is really very positive / astonish:

Porteus KDE is extremely fast (so started as ISO from grub) operable!

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1081
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: first experience

Post#4 by Jack » 13 Sep 2016, 12:25

You can get palemoon already built from here viewtopic.php?f=49&t=6086 you get other too.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

oui
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Feb 2013, 17:53
Distribution: SliTaz
Location: earth

Re: first experience

Post#5 by oui » 13 Sep 2016, 13:42

Hi Jack

Thank you very much. What is to do to start packages offered as xzm's?

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1081
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.rc5 Mate 64 bit
Location: Marysville, OHIO USA

Re: first experience

Post#6 by Jack » 13 Sep 2016, 14:08

I use USB format ext4 and put the xzm in porteus/modules. Then I reboot and it loads. Here is more you might want to try viewtopic.php?f=124&t=6112 and put them in the same place.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

oui
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Feb 2013, 17:53
Distribution: SliTaz
Location: earth

Re: first experience

Post#7 by oui » 13 Sep 2016, 18:01

oh, thank you, Jack, any more! I have always only ONE, never more, full installation. today, it is now Ubuntu64 with KDE5. and a lot of software,,,

all other distros run so, as they are in the iso.

but, of course, you can not restart without to remaster!

I did ask, above, how to remaster, but "francois" did not answer the question... probably a difficult question.

how to do that?

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3198
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: first experience

Post#8 by Ed_P » 13 Sep 2016, 19:27

oui wrote:all other distros run so, as they are in the iso.

but, of course, you can not restart without to remaster!
FWIW I boot ISOs and have added .xzm modules and have persistence on FAT USB drives and NTFS hard drives without remastering. Check out the Porteus extramods and changes cheatcodes.
Ed

oui
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Feb 2013, 17:53
Distribution: SliTaz
Location: earth

Re: first experience

Post#9 by oui » 13 Sep 2016, 20:02

Hi Ed_P

Thank you for your answer!
Where can I find the tools for the Porteus extramods and changes cheatcodes in that special version named http://ftp.vim.org/ftp/os/Linux/distr/p ... x86_64.iso ?
I already did look under "kde panel > system" as recommanded by françois but did find no seeing adequate tool!

(Perhaps it is to early to yet already use Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc5-x86_64.iso especially for an user having nothing idea how Porteus works? I actually use Ubuntu64 16.04 but it makes an trouble don't appearing in Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc5-x86_64 (cursor management on my PC), so I would prefer to use Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc5-x86_64... But how to add packages (*1 properly?)

Kind regards

(*1: bluefish, xsane and ocr for de, en, fr, hunspell for de, en-gb, fr, calligra+krita (or libre-office+mtpaint or gimp, if absolutely not possible), secure browser (firefox is absolutely not secure: how can copy your ~/.mozilla/ has access to all your browser data! firefox is an open door to pirates... And firefox needs a lot of place on the screen for nothing. Same thing of course for palemoon... only seamonkey can shrink easily the surface of occupied screen and offer over that html editor, messaging and email functions. It is not perfect, but Linux has absolutely no html editor wysyg any more...), rekonq would be enough if not better choice available, including of course a well connected libflashplayer.so, gwenview, okular, xvidcap (yes, it also goes in 64 bit mode! I copy the package of user "fred" for his 64 bit debian porteus :roll: at puppy linux into the real Ubuntu 64 16.04 and it works perfectly...), pulseaudio (else is xvidcap to nothing goods...), kwave, amarok, merkaartor, gramps, marble, darktable, an utility to manage the pictures on my smart phone, and a dev tools chain.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3198
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: first experience

Post#10 by Ed_P » 13 Sep 2016, 20:49

oui wrote:Where can I find the tools for the Porteus extramods and changes cheatcodes in that special version named http://ftp.vim.org/ftp/os/Linux/distr/p ... x86_64.iso ?
I already did look under "kde panel > system" as recommanded by françois but did find no seeing adequate tool!
Check out this page: http://www.porteus.org/component/conten ... -them.html

I use grub4dos to boot ISOs and my parms look like this:

Code: Select all

set ISO30=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64-nu.iso

# menu entries

title Porteus 3.0.1 changes=EXIT mode \n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% changes=EXIT:/porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules volume=40 reboot=cold ramsize=80%
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
Note the cheatcodes on the kernel line.

If you use grub2 something like this might work for you.

Code: Select all

menuentry "Porteus LXQT ISO" --class slackware   --class icon-porteus  {
     echo Boot disk address is: $root
     echo Prefix is:            $prefix
     echo The boot mode is:     $grub2win_bootmode

     set iso=/ISOs/Porteus-LXQT-v3.1-x86_64-nu.iso

     search -f $iso --set=root
     echo ISO root is:          $root
     echo ISO is:               $iso
     if [ -f (hd0,1)/USB_INSTALLATION.txt ]; then
         set linux_drv=/mnt/sdb1/porteus3.1
     else
         set linux_drv=/mnt/sda5/porteus3.1
     fi
     echo Porteus extramods     $linux_drv
     set porteus_parms="extramod=$linux_drv/Modules;$linux_drv/modsavedat volume=33 reboot=cold"
     echo Porteus parms are:    $porteus_parms
     echo
     loopback loop $iso
     sleep -v -i 17
 
     linux  (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=$iso $porteus_parms
     initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
}
While it uses the extramod cheatcode it doesn't use the changes= one.
Ed

Post Reply