KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Get help with KDE4 specific problems

KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Postby joshsmithtogo » 13 Apr 2017, 18:37

I have a booting USB drive, but when I get to a desktop for KDE, all I see is a menu in the top left corner and I can right click the desktop and select run command to get to everything else. I am just not getting a full desktop with wallpaper, taskbar, and what a normal desktop looks like. Any help is appreciated.
joshsmithtogo
Ronin
Ronin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 18:33
Location: Oklahoma
Distribution: Porteus X64 3.2.2 KDE

Re: KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Postby Bogomips » 13 Apr 2017, 19:17

Welcome to Porteus. Looks like you have X, but not KDE dm. Please furnish hardware spec.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 16:21
Location: London
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5

Re: KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Postby joshsmithtogo » 13 Apr 2017, 19:44

My system according to porteus system info dump:


http://codepad.org/yn2KcRXz
joshsmithtogo
Ronin
Ronin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 18:33
Location: Oklahoma
Distribution: Porteus X64 3.2.2 KDE

Re: KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Postby Blaze » 13 Apr 2017, 19:44

HI joshsmithtogo.
Did you try 'Always Fresh mod'?
Linux porteus 4.10.8-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Apr 1 22:30:16 BRT 2017 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
User avatar
Blaze
Warlord
Warlord
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 12:31
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64

Re: KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Postby joshsmithtogo » 13 Apr 2017, 20:07

Yes tried always fresh and it does the same thing. If I edit the boot parameter with nomodeset then all works well but I lose the graphic card speed boost and it dwindles down performance.
joshsmithtogo
Ronin
Ronin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Apr 2017, 18:33
Location: Oklahoma
Distribution: Porteus X64 3.2.2 KDE

Re: KDE 3.2.2 X86_64 Boots but no KDE desktop

Postby francois » 13 Apr 2017, 20:42

I had the same issue on a laptop in dual display mode.

My problem for kde black screen and no panel under 3.2.2 and now in 4.0 is only due to the automatic dual display malfunction under kde5 (no kernel or kde issue).


The problem is corrected with the addition of:
Code: Select all
kscreen2-5.9.2-x86_64-1alien.xzm
libkscreen2-5.9.2-x86_64-1alien.xzm

https://pkgs.org/download/kscreen2

which will auto-adjust screens at bootup and permit specific adjustments with kde settings gui.

All you have to do is to transform these txz into xzm and add them to /porteus/modules and reboot under porteus 3.2.2 :)

Do not hesitate to ask additional information if this procedure is not clear enough (with midnight commander, convert the package thru text mode porteus once downloaded).
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.
User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 4671
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:25
Location: C'est l'autome, en forêt les arbres d'ici nous en mettent plein la vue: les rouges, jaunes ...
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun


Return to KDE4



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests