Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
rchase
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 158
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 xfce x64
Location: Denver, Colorado

Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Post#1 by rchase » 22 Sep 2017, 18:19

Starting with Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso burned to CD, I cannot seem to get Firefox or Chrome to function either by activating previously downloaded copies or by update-firefox and update-chrome. I can activate (download, build, and activate) browser modules without errors, but firefox-54.0b7-x86_64-1.xzm (e.g.) doesn't populate the menu when activated (and startx doesn't help) -- I just attempted that as root, but I also cannot get google-chrome-61.0.3163.79-x86_64-1.xzm to work as guest. All the chrome modules I have tried do populate the menu -- they just don't function. I have verified that the modules are being activated; I am responding to confirmation dialogs and the modules are loaded when I check Porteus system info. Any idea what I am doing wrong? Since I am using this same image on several machines on which Firefox does work, I am baffled; the problem has occurred only in connection with the use of a live CD, but everything else about Porteus and its modules seems to work fine (I was able to activate and use Libre Office, e.g.).

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3216
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Post#2 by Ed_P » 22 Sep 2017, 21:46

Can you start Firefox by entering firefox in a terminal window?
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 888
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Post#3 by ncmprhnsbl » 22 Sep 2017, 22:25

these are known issues:
firefox xzm is building without /usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop (it will start from the terminal) (yes, the build script needs to be fixed)
heres a firefox module with the .desktop file: firefox-56.0b10-x86_64-1-ncm.xzm
and new chromium (>61) needs a newer mozilla-nss package that is available from slackware-patches(via usm)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3216
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Post#4 by Ed_P » 23 Sep 2017, 00:01

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
22 Sep 2017, 22:25
firefox xzm is building without /usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop (it will start from the terminal) (yes, the build script needs to be fixed)
It could be because an update doesn't need to give a user another firefox.desktop file whereas a new install does.

If firefox starts via terminal one can create their own firefox.desktop file. :happy62:

Firefox ESR (Post by Ed_P #58509)
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 888
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Post#5 by ncmprhnsbl » 23 Sep 2017, 01:45

Ed_P wrote:
23 Sep 2017, 00:01
It could be because an update doesn't need to give a user another firefox.desktop file whereas a new install does.
nope, i always run the update- script without a firefox module activated.. for some reason mozilla doesn't supply the .desktop file in there package..
Ed_P wrote:
23 Sep 2017, 00:01
If firefox starts via terminal one can create their own firefox.desktop file.
absolutely, that's what i did :happy62:
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3216
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Can't get multiple versions of Firefox or Chrome to run

Post#6 by Ed_P » 23 Sep 2017, 04:32

ncmprhnsbl wrote:
23 Sep 2017, 01:45
for some reason mozilla doesn't supply the .desktop file in there package
:blink: Other systems use .desktop files also!! I thought they were only for Porteus.
Ed

Post Reply