[Solved] Can not enter GUI

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

[Solved] Can not enter GUI

Post#1 by yale » 21 Mar 2017, 03:01

When I boot the Porteus 3.2.2 xfce, sometimes the blakc CLI screen appears and doesn't go on any more.
So, I am not able to go in GUI despite of several reboots.

Now, Below screen displays repeatedly.
How can I enter the GUI?

Image
Last edited by yale on 28 Mar 2017, 14:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3423
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Can not enter GUI

Post#2 by Ed_P » 21 Mar 2017, 04:25

Sounds familiar. viewtopic.php?f=81&t=6467
Ed

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1553
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Can not enter GUI

Post#3 by Blaze » 21 Mar 2017, 16:49

Use this cheat code acpi=off in /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg

Find

Code: Select all

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus
Replace with

Code: Select all

LABEL GRAPHICAL
MENU LABEL Graphics mode
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus acpi=off
or better update kernel /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz and kernel-firmwares /mnt/sdb1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
>>> Look at these posts
plus as bonus you can tweak this script :)
>>> Small fix for next Porteus (new option acpi=off)
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

yale
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2017, 10:26
Distribution: 3.2.2
Location: Seoul

Re: Can not enter GUI

Post#4 by yale » 28 Mar 2017, 14:43

I don't know the technical reason, but whenever I met that screen above, I could enter the GUI by just login and typing 'startx'.

raja
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 65
Joined: 02 May 2017, 09:51
Distribution: v3.2.2-32bit and v3.2.2-64 bit
Location: Chennai,India

Re: [Solved] Can not enter GUI

Post#5 by raja » 28 May 2017, 16:55

I have been trying to somehow get v3.2.2,32 bit run in my old Laptop.
Today, I replaced Kernel and Vmlinuz with the latest and started in fresh mode. Booted ok and the best thing was the kernel had MT7601u driver for USB WiFi dongle and connected @110 kbps.My old Raling thing had limitation to 801.11B/G and no N protocol.

I replaced core module with the v3.2.2. The machine booted but with the error message, " unknown user 'Avahi' in the D message bus. Reboot resulted in hanging after 'unmounting all'', may be due to this avahi thing. Solution please.How can I remove Avahi servers once for all?. I don't need them.

Next, I replaced XFCE module with the new one. Boot process got stuck with the 'login'splash screen. 'Guest' was already entered, and on entering password, the login screen comes back in loop,I paused the screen. Following were the log entries.
Initializing Vidmode extension
Initializing DGA
Initializing DRI
InitializingDRI2
Loading extension Glx
Linear memory allocation xxxx etc
DRM memory allocation failed -6Linear memory allocated and xxxx memory freed.
/user/bin/xauth file /home/guest does not exist
/user/bin/startxpce4:X server already running on display 0.0
XFCE4 session:error while loading shared library 'libgbm.so.1
cannot open shared object, no such file or directory

freed memory closed server successfully.

and the splash login screen loops back.
When you can help me to over come these fault lines while loading core and xfce4(v3,2,2) modules,
I shall replace xorg.xzm with the latest and reply back.

Hope I will succeed in booting v3.2.2 in my old machine with expert help.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: [Solved] Can not enter GUI

Post#6 by Bogomips » 28 May 2017, 21:39

^ Posting what seems to be an entirely different topic in a topic that has already been solved. Please start a new topic, preferably under Intermediate/Advanced Questions.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply