Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby markdown » 06 Jan 2017, 10:50

Using 3.2.2 64Bit with KDE5 on a Dell XPS 13

Works:
- Wifi(after blacklisting wl)
- Bluetooth Send/Receive
- Touchscreen Single Touch(Multi touch probably works, but no application to test it on)
- All ACPI functions triggered from the Fn keys(Backlight, Keyboard backlight, Volume, Wifi On/Off)

Doesn't Work:
- Screen resolution setting missing in the KDE5 menu(However, changing the resolution via xrandr works)
- Clicking on "Open" after a bluetooth file is received triggers ../plasma/.../ui/Bluetooth-<ID> instead of actually opening the file
- Connecting to a network and then turning the wifi off then on, doesn't display the already known SSID. They needs to be connected to from the Network Connections Edit window.
- The Wifi password is saved, but the password is again prompted in order for the guest user to connect. Ticking the "Allow all users to use this connection" box doesn't help.
markdown
White ninja
White ninja
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Jan 2017, 12:52
Location: marktown
Distribution: porteus

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby ncmprhnsbl » 07 Jan 2017, 01:24

xfce (32 & 64)
usr/bin/lxdm symlink > no longer needed ... must be still hanging in your TREE ;)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44
User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
 
Posts: 640
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 04:42
Location: australia
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby neko » 07 Jan 2017, 10:27

Is it bug ?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The directory name 'nVidia' of 'initrd.xz' of 'v3.2.2 ISO' should be changed to 'NVIDIA', should it?
Porteus-XXXX-v3.2.2-XXXX.iso@/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz@/usr/share/pciids/nVidia

Because line 311 of linuxrc was changed
from
"cd /usr/share/pciids/nVidia; NV=`grep $nv * | cut -d: -f1`; cd /"
to
"cd /usr/share/pciids/NVIDIA; NV=`grep $nv * | cut -d: -f1`; cd /"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks.
neko
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 10:55
Location: japan
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby fulalas » 07 Jan 2017, 12:25

neko wrote:Is it bug ?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The directory name 'nVidia' of 'initrd.xz' of 'v3.2.2 ISO' should be changed to 'NVIDIA', should it?
Porteus-XXXX-v3.2.2-XXXX.iso@/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz@/usr/share/pciids/nVidia

Because line 311 of linuxrc was changed
from
"cd /usr/share/pciids/nVidia; NV=`grep $nv * | cut -d: -f1`; cd /"
to
"cd /usr/share/pciids/NVIDIA; NV=`grep $nv * | cut -d: -f1`; cd /"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks.


Already reported here but no response at all...
fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 270
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 16:34
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Porteus

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby neko » 07 Jan 2017, 16:29

@fulalas
Thank you for your answer.
Now I am integrating some kinds "initrd"s to one.
I researched the "initrd" of Porteus v3.2.2.
I found the directory name mismatch.

I do not have NVIDIA. So I did not test it.
Maybe, If you will replace "initrd.xz" of "Porteus V3.2.2" with remaked new one,
the message "line 334: can't cd to /usr/share/pciids/NVIDIA" will not apeare.

How to remake "initrd.xz".
Example: Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso
Code: Select all
% su
# ls
Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso
# mkdir Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64 /tmp/iso
# mount -o loop Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso /tmp/iso
# cp -a /tmp/iso Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64/
# cp -a /tmp/iso/.[0-9A-Za-z]* Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64/ 2>/dev/null
# umount /tmp/iso
# rm -fr /tmp/iso
# xz -dc Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz > TMP
# mkdir initrd
# cd initrd
# cat ../TMP | cpio -i
# cd ../
# rm TMP
# mv initrd/usr/share/pciids/nVidia initrd/usr/share/pciids/NVIDIA
# cd initrd
# find | cpio -H newc -o | xz -C crc32 -9 > ../initrd.xz
# cd ../
# rm -fr initrd
# mv initrd.xz Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64/boot/syslinux/
# mkisofs -o new.Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso -v -l -J -joliet-long  -R -D -A ${CDLABEL} -V ${CDLABEL} \
-no-emul-boot -boot-info-table -boot-load-size 4 \
-b boot/syslinux/isolinux.bin -c boot/syslinux/isolinux.boot Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64
# rm -fr Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64
# ls
Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso new.Porteus-XFCE-v3.2.2-x86_64.iso



Thanks.
neko
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 704
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 10:55
Location: japan
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby fulalas » 08 Jan 2017, 10:33

Thanks, neko. It seems that you've found the problem :)

But there are some things that I still don't understand, for example this part of line 319:

Code: Select all
96.43.|173.14.|304.

AFAIK, Nvidia now has only 4 driver prefix:

177.xx -> GeForce up to 5 FX
304.xx -> GeForce up to 7
340.xx -> GeForce up to 300
367.xx -> GeForce from 400 to newest

So maybe this linuxrx script is too old.

Also, I don't see a good reason to use case naming folders ('AMD' and 'NVIDIA'). For me it generates more confusing than anything else. My suggestion is to always use lower case ('amd' and 'nvidia').

Finally, because of these two parts of line 315 and 319, respectively, Porteus tries to load every file regardless of its extension, but what we really want is to load only .xzm files:

"nvidia-$NV*"
"nvidia-*"

So maybe the better approach should be something like this:


"nvidia-$NV*.xzm"
"nvidia-*.xzm"

What you think? :)
fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 270
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 16:34
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Porteus

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby Ed_P » 09 Jan 2017, 19:30

Ed_P wrote:Cinnamon 64-bit ISO changes=EXIT

1. In the prior releases commands like this:
Code: Select all
cp -a --parents    /etc/usm/*                                     /tmp/mod/
cp -a --parents    /var/usm/                                      /tmp/mod/

did not result in errors like this:
Code: Select all
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/etc/usm’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/slackonly’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/ponce’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/alien’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/salix’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/slacky’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/slackwarepatches’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/slackware’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/sbo’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm/local’: Invalid argument
cp: preserving permissions for ‘/tmp/mod/var/usm’: Invalid argument


More about this here: Invalid argument

The problem doesn't occur in 3.2.1.
Ed
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 2645
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 23:12
Location: Western NY, USA
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.* 64-bit ISO

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby dutchkind » 09 Jan 2017, 21:33

Installed (upgraded) Porteus 3.2 and am quite pleased with the result, thank!

Some minor bugs I run into:
My wifi didn't work but worked in the previous version. Appeared to be missing iwlwifi firmware. Copied it over from opensuse tumbleweed, which runs the same version kernel, and it was ok.

I use Porteus primarily on my job so I won't have to suffer windows, so today was the first day with the new version.

Scanner, Pixma 280, didn't work. Was an udev rule, copied one of the rules found in /etc/udev/rules.d/80-canon_mfp2.rules and changed to the correct ATTR{idProduct}, and voila, working

Printing took me a lot longer to fix, turned out the folder /var/spool/cups/tmp had the wrong group 'root' instead of 'lp'. After I changed it it worked.

The service menu's to extract and create xzm modules that were there in the previous Porteus were missing, so I copied the over in
/usr/share/kde4/services/ServiceMenus/ and /usr/share/kservices5/ServiceMenus (both, because some older kde4 applications need the first one, like the krusader I installed from usm)

So now I am writing this from my brand new Porteus install!
dutchkind
Ronin
Ronin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jan 2017, 21:19
Location: Spain
Distribution: Opensuse Tumbleweed

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby wread » 10 Jan 2017, 01:52

Happy New Year to all!

I wanted to update my kernel from 4.8.11 to 4.9.0, so I downloaded Porteus-KDE-v3.2.2-x86_64, mlooped it to extract 000-kernel.xzm and vmlinuz.

Next I saved the 4.8.11 kernels and loaded the 4.9.0 ones, activated the installer and rebooted: It freezes by booting! Also when started in text mode. I run efi booting.

Then I switched back to the original 4.8.11 set. As I didn't see any extra vmlinuz in the porteus repository, I thought "that cannot be true!", but I did try without the new vmlinuz again.......it started in text mode, but when you ask for uname -a the answer is linux 4.8.11 (as vmlinuz is).

This behavior should not occur, as there is no synchronization between vmlinuz 4.8.11 and 000-kernel 4.9.0. As it should be, xinit failed looking for files in /lib/modules/4.8.11 when they are really in /lib/modules/4.9.0

One more test: Now with 000-kernel 4.9 and the whole folder /boot/syslinux/ that includes all other files around vmlinuz 4.9.0. No luck either!

Say Jay, what am I doing wrong? Or is vmlinuz buggy?

Regards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 19:48
Location: Santo Domingo
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby fulalas » 10 Jan 2017, 09:30

wread, does it work if you try an untouchable 3.2.2 ISO boot?
fulalas
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 270
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 16:34
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Porteus

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby Seq_Res » 10 Jan 2017, 16:45

XFCE : give a lot of error messages during booting, then boot into "safe" mode, which the display resolution is not full sized, and mouse responses very slowly.
Cinnamon : boot up nicely, without any error message; the same set of .xzm are used.

scim does not function in current firefox and opera, but okay in 06-firefox.xzm (2014) and current palemoon.

Can someone tell me how to change the fontsize of the Cinnamon Menu please ? thanks.
Seq_Res
Black ninja
Black ninja
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 03:07
Location: China

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby Blaze » 10 Jan 2017, 17:55

Image
dutchkind wrote:I use Porteus primarily on my job so I won't have to suffer windows, so today was the first day with the new version.

I hate Window$ and all government portals dependent from Internet Explorer at my job
Code: Select all
budget.gov.ru
bus.gov.ru
zakupki.gov.ru
gosuslugi.ru

In others browsers these websites does not work (I mean personal cabinets of these portals).
All is based on Window$... :bad:

My dream is Porteus everywhere.

In my country chose a cource to replace Window$ on GosLinux (and probably ALT Linux, Rosa Linux, Astra Linux (Astra Linux for military purposes)) for Municipalities and Federal Offices.

GosLinux it's a pseudo Linux distro - base on CentOS 6.4 (Red Hat Enterprise Linux) with 'latest' software Gnome 2.28.2, Firefox 17.0.7, Libreoffice 4.1 :ROFL: (laughing out loud)

Someone has washed a lot of money for this pseudo GosLinux distro.
Road map for the implementation of GosLinux have a long time (several years).

If you want, you can laugh at them in VirtualBox :D
Code: Select all
http://fap.fssprus.ru/


dutchkind wrote:Scanner, Pixma 280, didn't work. Was an udev rule, copied one of the rules found in /etc/udev/rules.d/80-canon_mfp2.rules and changed to the correct ATTR{idProduct}, and voila, working

If this way is universal for all, who have the same device, I can add your steps how to add support of Scanner Pixma 280 in my todo list for next printing modules, but I need more info step by step from you. Thanks.

dutchkind wrote:Printing took me a lot longer to fix, turned out the folder /var/spool/cups/tmp had the wrong group 'root' instead of 'lp'. After I changed it it worked.

It's my mistake. Do you fix it via command
Code: Select all
chown -R root:lp /var/spool/cups

?

Please post your bug report to this topic printing-3.2 for porteus 3.2

Thanks for your report!

Seq_Res, probably it's https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=230128 help you with font size of Cinnamon
Linux porteus 4.9.12-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Feb 26 13:48:34 BRT 2017 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16
User avatar
Blaze
Warlord
Warlord
 
Posts: 1073
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 12:31
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby donald » 11 Jan 2017, 01:14

XFCE 4.9.0-porteus i686

*.xzm
The right click context menu (or doubleclick action) is in wrong order.

Example:
doubleclick a not activated xzm > Pw prompt > message: Module is not activated
(wrong action "deactivate" should be "activate")

doubleclick a activated xzm > Pw prompt > message: Module is already activated
(wrong action "activate" should be "deactivate"

Same with context menu.The 1st (= doubleclick) option is the wrong one.
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
 
Posts: 996
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 14:17
Location: Germany
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2: initrd

Postby Bogomips » 11 Jan 2017, 01:41

linuxrc

noload=-xyz crashes booting nicely with red font error message. Seemed to need cold boot to recover. However rammod=-abc now ok. linuxrc issues
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
 
Posts: 2157
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 16:21
Location: London
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Postby dutchkind » 11 Jan 2017, 18:26

dutchkind wrote:Scanner, Pixma 280, didn't work. Was an udev rule, copied one of the rules found in /etc/udev/rules.d/80-canon_mfp2.rules and changed to the correct ATTR{idProduct}, and voila, working

If this way is universal for all, who have the same device, I can add your steps how to add support of Scanner Pixma 280 in my todo list for next printing modules, but I need more info step by step from you. Thanks.


I just copied an already existing rule for a Canon scanner and changed the product id code found with sane-find-scanner. But this is just one scanner. My udev rule for sane in opensuse contains 2800 lines!

dutchkind wrote:Printing took me a lot longer to fix, turned out the folder /var/spool/cups/tmp had the wrong group 'root' instead of 'lp'. After I changed it it worked.

It's my mistake. Do you fix it via command
Code: Select all
chown -R root:lp /var/spool/cups

?

Please post your bug report to this topic printing-3.2 for porteus 3.2

Thanks for your report!


I saw it was already posted there. I just rebuild the printer module.

Btw, is scanning included in the printing module? I forgot to mention that to get scanning to work I installed simple-scanner with usm which pulled in some missing libs including sane. I use the KDE5 version so it may be available in other systems
dutchkind
Ronin
Ronin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jan 2017, 21:19
Location: Spain
Distribution: Opensuse Tumbleweed

PreviousNext

Return to Bug Reports



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests