Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#151 by donald » 03 Apr 2017, 11:19

@ fulalas

I saw this screen once or twice and the debug shell showed that the drive
has not been found. (in /mnt) IIRC

what helped, was to tell porteus where to (exactly) search for its files
using the "from=" cheatcode together with the UUID of the drive.

e.g.
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz from=UUID:"09b7e..." changes=UUID:"09b7e..."/porteus

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 835
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#152 by fulalas » 03 Apr 2017, 12:58

@donald, thanks for this tip! I've just changed porteus.cfg according to your suggestion. Let's hope this error stops :)

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5124
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#153 by francois » 04 Apr 2017, 20:55

The man is with the wife on some island. Please do not disturb. :wink:
Carpe diem.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#154 by Ed_P » 05 Apr 2017, 04:42

^ Australia is a very big island. :good:

ISOUSB-1.5 related posts moved to here: viewtopic.php?f=140&t=6809 :)
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports: KDE plasmashell

Post#155 by Bogomips » 09 Apr 2017, 15:49

Going about capping browser and plugin-container, when noticed plasmashell consuming around 20% of cpu.
port wrote:
port wrote:Sometimes plasmashell keeps using 100% of CPU and a quite big amount of memory (5.6% MEM) in such situation everything freezes and becomes very slow I cannot even raise an opened windows by clicking on its name in bottom bar or raise and focus by click on window's title or area.
solution: kill the plasmashell process and restart it (but not a desiderable solution anyway! ;)
Slightly more elegant solution:

Code: Select all

[code]guest@porteus:~$ cpulimit -bl 6 -e plasmashell
guest@porteus:~$ Process 1256 detected
Now very rarely exceeding 10% cpu, and after some 20 minutes, not always hogging top consumption position on almost idle m/c.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

fulalas
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 835
Joined: 26 Oct 2016, 15:34
Distribution: Porteus
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#156 by fulalas » 16 Apr 2017, 10:45

donald wrote:I saw this screen once or twice and the debug shell showed that the drive
has not been found. (in /mnt) IIRC

what helped, was to tell porteus where to (exactly) search for its files
using the "from=" cheatcode together with the UUID of the drive.

e.g.
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz from=UUID:"09b7e..." changes=UUID:"09b7e..."/porteus
Just to tell you that yesterday I saw that boot bug even with your cheatcode suggestion :(

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#157 by ralcocer » 28 Apr 2017, 10:47

I just installed v3.2.2 XFCE and I keep getting an error about the font not being instlled also in QT5 I get QFontDatabase: Cannot find font directory /usr/local/Qt-5.3.1/lib/fonts - is Qt installed correctly?Aborted
any sugestions

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports: KDE5 plasmashell

Post#158 by Bogomips » 01 May 2017, 12:10

Sometimes when browsing a site which requires javascript be trurned on, hdd gets thrashed with cpu at 100% and nothing more possible for about a minute on this low spec system, before browser decides it has an unresponsive script. Opting to stop script brings everything back to normal, but sometimes cpu load still peaks at around 30% in idle mode.

It turns out that plasmashell is the culprit, and to resume normal working, have capped it at 6% of cpuload:

Code: Select all

cpulimit  -bl 6  -e plasmashell
However, after a while of being capped, have noticed plasmashell being around 0.3% cpu load in idle state. Consequently removed capping, and plasmashell remains well behaved. :unknown:
Last edited by Bogomips on 01 May 2017, 13:14, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Low Spec
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#159 by Rava » 04 May 2017, 13:24

I really tried running/testing 3.2.2 (x86-64, XFCe), but it utterly fails. Hopefully it is not some hardware issue with my laptop (8 core, my newest, best PC) but a mere setup issue, installing it on sda1 next to the existing Port 3.1.
Hardware: Toshiba Satellite Notebook
CPU: 8 Core CPU "Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 720 @ 1.60GHz"
GPU: "GeForce GT 330M" with 1024 MB internal memory, 128 bit memory interface.
RAM: 4 GB.


Sorry, it is quite the long post.
But mainly it comes in two parts, separated by a divider line aka " ______ "
Prior that line it's about how the files and folders are on sda1 (showing the working Port 3.1 install vs the crashing at boot time 3.2.2 install), and how the setup is done via the NeoGrub menu.lst

After that divider line, it's about isolinux, extlinux, syslinux and pxelinux, and that all these files/folders are missing on sda1, but are on sda2. I presume it's the way the install of NeoGrub did it. Back then NeoGrub was the only working solution when you have a standard Windoze 7 install, want to keep it and still install Linux on the same machine.



Core developers of Porteus, please jump to the end of this post, starting with the lines all in bold, the lines about no isolinux/ or syslinux/ directories in sda1/Boot. These are matters I have (unfortunately) not much clue about...




Port 3.2.2 (x86-64, XFCe) installed on internal harddisk, sda1 (Windoze 7 "System" partition) using NeoGrub, installed in MBR and on sda2 (that's Windoze 7 "C:" partition)
When booting up, first comes the Windoze 7 boot menu, where "Linux" is the default OS, then comes the NeoGrub boot menu, where I can choose from:
Porteus 3.1 x86-64 (default, working)
Porteus 3.2.2 x86-64 (crashing at boot)
Puppy Quirky NOP 1.20 (working, backup OS)


Below are the settings in menu.lst. The one for 3.1 works like a charm. And I have no clue what's wrong with the one for 3.2.2. It crashes in a way that I cannot scroll up to see what's the cause of the error. It looks like a kernel dump or kernel panic.
When it's helpful I can make a screenshot of the crash the next time I boot up the machine, at least of the last part, maybe I can even do a video and see what happens prior the last freeze image, cause it happens too quick to see anything when just watching the bootup. :-?P


Here the menu.lst entries for 3.1 (working) and the one for 3.2.2 (complete crash)

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.1 x86-64 XFCe
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/Boot/vmlinuz_Porteus_3.1_x86_64 ramsize=45% zram=20% timezone=Europe/Berlin volume=75% kmap=de sgnfile=porteus_intHDD1_1.sgn
initrd (hd0,0)/Boot/initrd.xz_Porteus_3.1_x86_64
boot

title Porteus 3.2.2 x86-64 XFCe
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/Boot/vmlinuz_Porteus_3.2.2_x86_64 from=/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/ ramsize=45% zram=20% timezone=Europe/Berlin volume=75% kmap=de sgnfile=porteus-v3.2.2_intHDD1-x86_64.sgn
initrd (hd0,0)/Boot/initrd.xz_Porteus_3.2.2_x86_64
boot
and here the layout on sda1 (I added extra line breaks to make it better to read/to have the entries separated):

Code: Select all

rava@porteus:/mnt/sda1$ ls -1 /mnt/sda1/Boot/vmlinuz_Porteus_3.* /mnt/sda1/Boot/initrd.xz_Porteus_3.* /mnt/sda1/porteus/base/00[0123]-* /mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/00* /mnt/sda1/porteus/*sgn /mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/*sgn

/mnt/sda1/Boot/initrd.xz_Porteus_3.1_x86_64
/mnt/sda1/Boot/initrd.xz_Porteus_3.2.2_x86_64

/mnt/sda1/Boot/vmlinuz_Porteus_3.1_x86_64
/mnt/sda1/Boot/vmlinuz_Porteus_3.2.2_x86_64

/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/002-xorg.xzm
/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/003-xfce4.xzm
/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/004-nvidia-304.134_3.2.2-x86_64-1bp.xzm
/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/005-palemoon-27.2.0+FlashV25.0.0.127_2017-03-01.xzm

/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/porteus-v3.2-x86_64.sgn
/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/porteus-v3.2.2_intHDD1-x86_64.sgn

/mnt/sda1/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sda1/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/sda1/porteus/base/001-core_alldesktops-150124.xzm
/mnt/sda1/porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
/mnt/sda1/porteus/base/002-xorg_alldesktops-150126.xzm
/mnt/sda1/porteus/base/003-xfce.xzm

/mnt/sda1/porteus/porteus_intHDD1_1.sgn
At least to me it seems that I did write the menu.lst correct, and the layout on sda1 fits the cheatcodes used, e.g. the from= ...

Or am I too stupid and made a grave mistake in all that? Image

....

_____________________________________________________________________


Maybe the issue is yet another one.
I just realized, there are no isolinux/ or syslinux/ directories in sda1/Boot
(that's the same as sda1/boot, since Windoze 7 supports finally soft & hard links xD) but there is such on sda2.

But unfortunately, I have not made detailed logs when installing NeoGrub or all Linux on that machine, so I have no clue if all these folders have installed together with NeoGrub, or if partly that was done together with Porteus 1.0 rc2 (that was installed, at least the initrd and vmlinuz on /mnt/sda2/Boot, with later Porteus versions I then thought "why not use the unused space on sda1 for installing Linux..." and so moved my Linux boot stuff from sda2 to sda1 )

Could it be that Port 3.1 x86-64 (And Puppy Quirky NOP 1.20) works with the quite old "syslinux/ isolinux/ pxelinux.cfg/" stuff, and Port 3.2.2 no longer works with it?

I presume only a few people from the core developers can answer that...


Here is what's on sda2/Boot (aka sda2/boot)

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda2/Boot# type l
l is aliased to `ls -loa --color=auto --time-style=long-iso'

root@porteus:/mnt/sda2/Boot# l syslinux/ isolinux/ pxelinux.cfg/
isolinux/:
total 33
drwxrwxrwx 1 root     0 2011-05-15 03:04 .
drwxrwxrwx 1 root  4096 2017-05-03 09:00 ..
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 24576 2011-05-07 15:00 isolinux.bin
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  2048 2011-05-07 20:57 isolinux.boot
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root    26 2011-01-05 21:53 isolinux.cfg

pxelinux.cfg/:
total 193
drwxrwxrwx 1 root      0 2011-05-15 03:04 .
drwxrwxrwx 1 root   4096 2017-05-03 09:00 ..
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root     84 2011-04-25 19:16 default
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 185064 2011-03-16 07:33 dnsmasq
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root    956 2011-04-25 19:45 start

syslinux/:
total 646
drwxrwxrwx 1 root   4096 2011-05-15 03:04 .
drwxrwxrwx 1 root   4096 2017-05-03 09:00 ..
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root   3769 2011-03-13 15:18 bootextlinux.sh
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root   2648 2011-04-27 20:06 bootinst.bat
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root   3795 2011-03-13 15:19 bootsyslinux.sh
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  58712 2011-04-25 13:37 extlinux
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root     26 2011-02-26 16:16 extlinux.conf
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  32256 2011-05-11 02:50 ldlinux.sys
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 171824 2010-02-15 04:09 lilo
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root   4058 2011-05-03 02:58 liloinst.sh
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root    440 2011-04-25 13:37 mbr.bin
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  43422 2011-01-09 00:29 plpbt
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  50520 2011-04-25 13:37 syslinux
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root     26 2011-01-05 21:54 syslinux.cfg
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  35285 2011-04-25 13:37 syslinux.com
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root  71168 2011-04-25 13:37 syslinux.exe
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 155792 2011-04-25 13:37 vesamenu.c32

root@porteus:/mnt/sda2/Boot# l -d syslinux/ isolinux/ pxelinux.cfg/
drwxrwxrwx 1 root    0 2011-05-15 03:04 isolinux/
drwxrwxrwx 1 root    0 2011-05-15 03:04 pxelinux.cfg/
drwxrwxrwx 1 root 4096 2011-05-15 03:04 syslinux/
Like I said above, sadly I have no clue if that's what NeoGrub installed and uses for starting up any Linux, of if it's partly stuff that was from the old, now unused Port 1.0 rc2 install...

Here some more date info on some more files and folders:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/mnt/sda2/Boot# l /mnt/sda2/BOOTSECT.* /mnt/sda2/NST/NeoGrub.mbr 
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 8192 2010-05-06 08:29 /mnt/sda2/BOOTSECT.BAK
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 8192 2010-05-06 08:29 /mnt/sda2/BOOTSECT.BAK.orginal
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 8192 2011-03-02 13:47 /mnt/sda2/BOOTSECT.NEOGRUB
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 8192 2010-09-23 07:54 /mnt/sda2/NST/NeoGrub.mbr
I think that means I installed NeoGrub in 2010, and probably Port 1.0 rc2 in 2011.

Do I need to update files in
/mnt/sda2/Boot/isolinux/
/mnt/sda2/Boot/pxelinux.cfg/
and/or
/mnt/sda2/Boot/syslinux/
??

But for now, I also want my Port 3.1 x86-64 running okay ("never touch a running system"), and I also have, as backup, a Puppy quirkyNOP-120 ... And I need / want these two Linux working as well.

But I still want Port 3.2.2 installed on sda1 and running okay as well...

I unfortunately have not that deep knowledge when it comes to isolinux, extlinux, syslinux or pxelinux to know when updating any or all of these to new versions, the new versions always ensure that older software (here: Port 3.1 x86-64 or Puppy quirkyNOP-120) still boots up okay...

Or do I need to update NeoGrub to run Port 3.2.2 ?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#160 by Bogomips » 04 May 2017, 14:57

At a quick glance, your from=/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/ is questionable, as the signfile is to be found here /mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/porteus-v3.2-x86_64.sgn. Think have to give directory where Porteus data is found, which would be from=/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2. As normally run from ISO, not quite definite here, but the signfile will certainly not be found in base. :)
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#161 by Ed_P » 04 May 2017, 18:42

Rava wrote:my laptop (8 core, my newest, best PC) but a mere setup issue, installing it on sda1 next to the existing Port 3.1.
Hardware: Toshiba Satellite Notebook
CPU: 8 Core CPU "Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 720 @ 1.60GHz"
GPU: "GeForce GT 330M" with 1024 MB internal memory, 128 bit memory interface.
RAM: 4 GB.
That sounds like a new UEFI machine. And if it is SDA1 is probably a FAT32 partition with a EFI folder on it. And Porteus can indeed be installed on it. I have flash drives set up that way that boot on UEFI machines.
how the setup is done via the NeoGrub menu.lst
I've never used NeoGrub but I do use Grub2Win which runs on Windows systems from 7 up. Like you I want to keep my base system, Windows, and add the other systems to it. I use to use Grub4DOS to accomplish that but it doesn't support UEFI hardware so I had to switch.
root@porteus:/mnt/sda2/Boot# l syslinux/ isolinux/ pxelinux.cfg/
isolinux/:
total 33
drwxrwxrwx 1 root 0 2011-05-15 03:04 .
drwxrwxrwx 1 root 4096 2017-05-03 09:00 ..
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 24576 2011-05-07 15:00 isolinux.bin
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 2048 2011-05-07 20:57 isolinux.boot
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root 26 2011-01-05 21:53 isolinux.cfg
isolinux!! Are you booting an ISO file?
Or do I need to update NeoGrub to run Port 3.2.2 ?
Or switch to another boot manager. I boot multiple versions of Porteus on my Windows hard drive and multiple versions on a USB flash drive. On my hard drive I boot ISOs on my flash drive I boot an install and ISOs. Both use Grub2 via Grub2Win. This thread gives more details: viewtopic.php?f=140&t=6557&p=52127

IMO Your Portues 3.2.2 files on sda2 is a problem and your menu pointing to file/s on sda1 is illogical. Who made the menu entry, you or NeoGrub?
Ed

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#162 by Rava » 06 May 2017, 10:37

Thanks Ed and Bogomips...

My Porteus files on sda2? I have my system (the modules, kernel and initrd, I don't boot from ISO) on sda1.

Yes, I presume it's an UEFI machine, but so far I not cared about UEFI or not, all Linux but 3.2.2 worked fine.
Is UEFI better at booting than via BIOS? As in: quicker?


Maybe or hopefully it was just my from=/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/base/ instead of from=/mnt/sda1/Porteus_3.2.2/ ...
I alter that and when I boot anew, I give you the heads up...

But Port 3.2.2 files on sda2?
Where did I write such? All 3.2.2 files are only on sda1. (Some extra modules might be elsewhere but these do not matter when it comes to booting)
What I do have on sda2 are the folders in /Boot/ that (presumed) Grub installed, cause I don't have these on sda1...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5656
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#163 by brokenman » 06 May 2017, 20:15

I just realized, there are no isolinux/ or syslinux/ directories in sda1/Boot
There should most definitely be a syslinux directory on your sda1/boot.

It may also be that you ARE booting using UEFI in which case you can disregard above. What colour is your boot menu? Can you describe it please?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#164 by Ed_P » 06 May 2017, 21:02

I think the output of a "ls /mnt/sda1" command would be helpful also.
Ed

CyberScooby
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 May 2017, 21:39
Distribution: (attempting) 3.2.2 xfce
Location: Canada

Re: Porteus-v3.2.2 bug reports here

Post#165 by CyberScooby » 09 May 2017, 21:52

This is my first attempt at using what appears to be a great live system. I am trying to install this onto a USB key, with a GPT layout containing one btrfs partition. After failing I switched to installing the USB key via the Porteus boot CD with no change.

It appears that the sfdisk command in the linux install script does not support GPT. So I have switched to a DOS layout and am now a little bit further in the install script. I'll post back here if it is a bug but may just be user error.

This is what I get for always having to be different. :lol:

EDIT:
It was giving me an error code of 2, after the message about Flushing filesystem buffers.

Post Reply