Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 282
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc3 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#106 by rchase » 21 Jun 2016, 19:59

P.S. I attempted to start the script from the terminal with

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/sdb3/boot
Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
"Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com: command not found"

Jack
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1857
Joined: 09 Aug 2013, 14:25
Distribution: Porteus and Nemesis
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#107 by Jack » 21 Jun 2016, 20:31

rchase wrote:P.S. I attempted to start the script from the terminal with

Code: Select all

cd /mnt/sdb3/boot
Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com
"Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com: command not found"
You first have to do this.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: toor
root@porteus:/home/guest#
root@porteus:/home/guest# cd /mnt/sdb3/boot
root@porteus:/mnt/sdb3/boot# sh Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com 
root@porteus:/mnt/sdb3/boot#
That how I do it.
I just like Slackware because I think it teach you about Linux to build packages where Ubuntu is like Windows you just install programs you want.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2564
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#108 by Bogomips » 22 Jun 2016, 00:22

KDE5 32 bit

On the way to making nvidia driver, noticed while in text mode, had lost all swap space. Through elimination found culptit to be rootcopy parameter, and rc.local is a subset of the cinnamon rc.local that is used. So turned on swap with swapon -a

After making the driver, entered GUI with init 4. Although nvidia driver was in charge, found KDE to be a bit sluggish.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline 
quiet initrd=initrd.xz from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc3/i586/Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc3-i586.iso rootcopy=UUID:b173/rcpy extramod=/dev/sda5/xtrax cliexec=mount~--bind~/home/guest/p9/tmp~/tmp noauto delay=10 3 BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 
guest@porteus:~$ df -h .
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            529M  181M  348M  35% /
guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:            880         587          65          30         226         104
Swap:           644         399         245
Disk was being thrashed, and top showed baloo_file peaking at 98% cpu. Shortly thereafter it was a case of REISUB.

@ scdbackup
Was having trouble trying to get append working on a dvd-rw. After quite a bit of research, opted for xorriso. On 3.1 managed to make a xorriso module, and after some meticulous manual reading, was able to get append working on a dvd-rw. However there was an unexpected spin off. :) Previously on Mint, Brassero managed to make coasters of quite a few of my dvd-rw media. Here on kde K3 Burn could use some of them, but was pleasantly surprised to find that xorriso was able to resurrect almost all the dvd-rw, written off as coasters, except for a couple. :good:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#109 by brokenman » 22 Jun 2016, 01:21

7z could simply ignore the block addresses of all files which have a byte count of 0.
This is kind of the way I see it too. It wasn't broken before.


"Porteus-installer-for-Linux.com: command not found"
./Porteus-install-for-Linux.com <-- note the dot slash

Bogomips, I too foud KDE5 on 32bit a disappointment. I did not observe the runaway baloo process. Will check it out.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 282
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc3 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#110 by rchase » 22 Jun 2016, 04:25

Jack, thanks. I am not very familiar with Linux; I found some reference to running a script just by entering its name. I've managed to install Porteus to sdb3. My understanding of the problem has been complicated by some weird fault with my IDE controller such that it will boot from a hard drive only if it is on IDE 0; Plop cannot boot OSs on another hard drive attached via IDE either, but can boot from USB.

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 3869
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus current ☯ all DEs ☯
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#111 by Blaze » 23 Jun 2016, 17:59

Xfce x86_64

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# unetbootin
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (icui18n: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)

root@porteus:~# clementine
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (icui18n: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)

root@porteus:~# simplescreenrecorder --logfile
Unable to load library icui18n "Cannot load library icui18n: (icui18n: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)
For fix this problem need to install icu4c-51.2-x86_64-1.txz via

Code: Select all

usm -g icu
ldconfig: Can't stat /libx32: No such file or directory and ldconfig: Can't stat /usr/libx32: No such file or directory
and what's meaning?

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# sudo ldconfig -v | grep icui18n
ldconfig: Can't stat /libx32: No such file or directory
ldconfig: Can't stat /usr/libx32: No such file or directory
	libicui18n.so.56 -> libicui18n.so.56.1
root@porteus:~#
Linux 6.6.11-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Sun Jan 14 12:07:37 MSK 2024 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1270 v6 @ 3.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600] [1002:73ff] (rev c7) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2564
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#112 by Bogomips » 25 Jun 2016, 00:57

kde 32 bit

Need to retract previous comments. It appears the nvidia installer was responsible for the runaway baloo process, which in turn made kde seem sluggish. However having now made a nvidia driver module and tweaked the boot process, kde response is fine and am no longer writing off kde. Will be quite usable if only could find a lightweight browser, which does not gulp up memory the way vivaldi did, Far worse than PaleMoon in that respect.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc/cmdline 
quiet initrd=initrd.xz from=/dev/sda10/tmp/iso/rc3/i586/Porteus-KDE-v3.2rc3-i586.iso rootcopy=UUID:b173/rcpy extramod=/dev/sda5/black cliexec=mount~--bind~/home/guest/p9/tmp~/tmp copy2ram rammod=base ramsize=30% noauto delay=10 BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz 

guest@porteus:~$ df -h .
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
aufs            265M   50M  215M  19% /

guest@porteus:~$ free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:            880         545          74          63         259         117
Swap:           644         453         191

guest@porteus:~$ cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg 
# Recognized devices:
...
/dev/sdb1: UUID="23B9-F6C2" TYPE="vfat" 
/dev/sdb2: UUID="3cedaa92-6cfd-4f71-8994-54ab948be7cc" TYPE="ext2" 
/dev/sdc1: UUID="ab55fc94-4882-417b-b173-7f159944fa9b" TYPE="ext2" 
/dev/sdc2: UUID="30e88aba-c81c-49ea-9e9b-d23edd56b578" TYPE="ext4" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/isoloop

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/isoloop/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
memory

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
UUID:b173/rcpy

# Modules activated during boot time:
/memory/copy2ram/000-kernel.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/001-core.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/002-xorg.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/003-kde5.xzm
/mnt/sda5/black/h3x.xzm
/mnt/sda5/black/nvidia-304.131_rc3-i586.xzm
Image Viewer Gwenview. Could not get it to work. :wall:

Image

Files present in directory do not show up.

Another thing was that the screenshot routine claims to save as png, but in reality saves as webp, Eventually found online converter to transform to png, This was necessary as neither postimage,org nor cinnamon image viewer capable of handling this format.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

rchase
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 282
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 17:26
Distribution: Porteus 5.0 rc3 xfce
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#113 by rchase » 25 Jun 2016, 18:25

On my old Satellite (which seemed to run 3.1 well), Porteus 3.2rc3 x86_64 XFCE booted in graphics mode says "Failed to start message bus ... error reading from ...system.conf", proceeds to load wallpaper, then stop; it doesn't respond to the keyboard, but shuts down within three seconds (with success messages replacing the wallpaper) upon pressing the power button.

P.S. Sorry -- just realized that A) the existing installation no longer has access to the taskbar or whisker menu and B) I was trying to boot the new image with that defective Porteus installation in place.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2564
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#114 by Bogomips » 25 Jun 2016, 20:38

@ scdbackup
Moved post to its own topic. :) http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=140&t=5997
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#115 by brokenman » 26 Jun 2016, 02:15

Bogomips I remember you mentioning a problem with pulseaudio applet using too much CPU. I just reproduced this tonight. I noticed slackware-current has just recompiled the xfce4-pulseaudio-plugin to fix a problem with the panel icon where it did not honour the gtk3 theme.

I installed the package and I don't get the cpu problem but I DO get the opposite of what they intended to fix. Now I have a white square background on the panel icon. Grrrrr. No doubt this will be blamed on the gtk3 theme but I have so far not found a theme that has light widgets and a dark panel and correctly puts a transparent background on the pulseaudio plugin icon. Looks like I will be patching themes tonight. :wall:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#116 by brokenman » 26 Jun 2016, 04:16

Got that sorted. The new porteus xfce4 will embrace material design.

Image
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 675
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Russia is causing the immense damage to humanity
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#117 by tome » 26 Jun 2016, 18:44

/usr/share/xfce4/weather/icons - icons should not be deleted

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# mousepad
- never ends:

Code: Select all

(mousepad:1572): dconf-WARNING **: failed to commit changes to dconf: The connection is closed
Maybe leafpad could be better - another Linuxes have the same.

Why slim? Isn't lxdm better - easy to switch DE.
You have mind and feelings. Be wise and clever.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6105
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v4 all desktops
Location: Brazil

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#118 by brokenman » 26 Jun 2016, 19:14

Try: su -
Then you will be using a login shell.
Why slim? Isn't lxdm better - easy to switch DE.
I was originally using lxdm but came across a showstopper that made the change inevitable. Can't recall what it was right now. Are you having a problem with slim?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 675
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Russia is causing the immense damage to humanity
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#119 by tome » 26 Jun 2016, 20:33

Thanks.
I don't have problem with slim, but from my point of view lxdm was nicer.
You have mind and feelings. Be wise and clever.

fullmoonremix

Re: Porteus-v3.2rc3 Bug Reports

Post#120 by fullmoonremix » 26 Jun 2016, 20:54

@ brokenman... material design... way to go :good: perhaps I will attempt it with Pek window manager and Bar (by Lemonboy) possibly Xfe also.

In regard to slim... perhaps you could take Qingy for a drive around the block?
It's the only DM that uses DirectFB. It's in the USM thanks to our friends @ SlackOnly.
http://qingy.sourceforge.net/
http://webwarper.net/ww/~av/slakfinder. ... e=#results
Last edited by fullmoonremix on 27 Jun 2016, 06:12, edited 1 time in total.

Locked