Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Wifi setup without wifi

Posted: 12 Oct 2017, 23:00
by emailhh
Based on my tests today, the wizard somehow fails to store proper wifi settings if the eventual wifi to be used by the kiosk is not available already during the setup. The test scenario:

1) Boot Porteus Kiosk wizard under VirtualBox (imho the most convenient way to set it up).
2) Set the kiosk to use wifi, set the correct SSID (as a hidden one, as the wizard cannot see any wifi under VirtualBox) and the password.
3) FInish the setup (which falls back on wired network as wifi is unavailable).
4) The result: when the created kiosk is booted, an error message about a gateway not setup is shown.

I tried the preceding several times, and both with versions 3.x and 4.x.

Repeating the same but booting the wizard from a stick on a laptop with wifi only, using the same SSID and password as above: the resulting kiosk worked on the first try!

So it seems that there is some bug in the wizard (or this is known behaviour but the documentation fails to mention about it). In any case, it would be nice to be able to setup a wifi-based kiosk when the wizard is run under VIrtualBox, but at least for me it did not work.

Wifi setup without wifi

Posted: 13 Oct 2017, 09:36
by fanthom
There is simpler way:
setup connection using wired and dhcp/static in the wizard then edit kiosk config and replace relevant parameters in this window:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/screens/wizard/config.png

For wifi with wpa(2) encryption and dhcp you need to have following parameters present:

Code: Select all

    connection=wifi
    dhcp=yes
    wifi_encryption=wpa
    wpa_password=some_password
    ssid_name=AP_name
Thats all.

[Solved... kind of] Wifi setup without wifi

Posted: 21 Oct 2017, 12:21
by emailhh
Thanks for the instructions. It would be good if this was mentioned somewhere in the FAQ etc.