wireless internet manual configuration

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
kiosk-newbie-1
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 01:20
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: N. America

wireless internet manual configuration

Post#1 by kiosk-newbie-1 » 14 Mar 2017, 01:36

This is my first time with Porteus. I'm setting up the wireless internet connection in the Wizard. "Configure Connection Using DHCP" doesn't do it. It times out.

I'm trying to figure out what to manually enter for "interface", and the other fields.

My router is a Comtrend AR-5381U. There is no firewall or proxy enabled.

I tried to assign a static IP for my wireless card's MAC address. Is that a bad idea?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: wireless internet manual configuration

Post#2 by fanthom » 14 Mar 2017, 10:09

Hello kiosk-newbie-1,

"I'm trying to figure out what to manually enter for "interface", and the other fields."
Interface should be filled automatically. If this is not the case then your wireless card need proprietary driver, firmware or kernel patches.

Please use wired connection for installation, generate debug report in the wizard and send to support@porteus-kiosk.org so we could find whats missing:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/screens/news/150829/report.png

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kiosk-newbie-1
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 01:20
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: N. America

Re: wireless internet manual configuration

Post#3 by kiosk-newbie-1 » 15 Mar 2017, 01:33

thanks fanthom

debug report sent.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: wireless internet manual configuration

Post#4 by fanthom » 15 Mar 2017, 08:05

Your wifi card works properly:

Code: Select all

02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0036] (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Dell Device [1028:020c]
        Kernel driver in use: ath9k
        Kernel modules: ath9k
SSID has no encryption but maybe its filtered by MAC address? Or maybe its a captive portal which requires to login with username and password before accessing the internet?

If it really is captive portal then custom build will be necessary.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kiosk-newbie-1
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 01:20
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: N. America

Re: wireless internet manual configuration

Post#5 by kiosk-newbie-1 » 16 Mar 2017, 14:07

Its not a captive portal. Its an open wireless network. No security or encryption whatsoever. Its an ordinary household router set to default settings.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: wireless internet manual configuration

Post#6 by fanthom » 16 Mar 2017, 14:35

Maybe devices which have an access to this router are filtered by MAC address?
Please boot Ubuntu live CD and check if you can connect to porteus-kiosk.org using the browser.

I have no other ideas at the moment.

Thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

kiosk-newbie-1
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Mar 2017, 01:20
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: N. America

Re: wireless internet manual configuration [SOLVED]

Post#7 by kiosk-newbie-1 » 16 Mar 2017, 16:44

thanks again.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: wireless internet manual configuration

Post#8 by fanthom » 17 Mar 2017, 10:29

This problem is resolved now - please download and install 4.3.0 release again.

Thank you for reporting.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply