Webpage Blocked

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
krodo57
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 29 Dec 2016, 18:08
Distribution: 3.7.0
Location: USA

Webpage Blocked

Post#1 by krodo57 » 29 Dec 2016, 18:16

I have installed v3.7.0 on a 32bit laptop to demonstrate porteus-kiosk to our church. Every website is blocked by administrator. I tried both Firefox and Chrome with the same results. Please advise.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5410
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Webpage Blocked

Post#2 by brokenman » 29 Dec 2016, 19:30

Moved to kiosk section.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Webpage Blocked

Post#3 by fanthom » 30 Dec 2016, 11:17

Hello krodo57,

Perhaps you have used 'whitelist=' parameter incorrectly? Please send your kiosk config to support@porteus-kiosk.org

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

krodo57
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 29 Dec 2016, 18:08
Distribution: 3.7.0
Location: USA

Re: Webpage Blocked

Post#4 by krodo57 » 30 Dec 2016, 13:44

Fathom, I have tried several configs to test the options since I'm new to porteus-kiosk. Even porteus-kiosk.org is blocked. Here is the latest one:

connection=wifi
network_interface=wlan0
dhcp=yes
wifi_encryption=wpa
ssid_name=ZOOM
wpa_password=zoom4BE4
browser=firefox
enable_dpms=yes
homepage=http://porteus-kiosk.org
allow_icmp_protocol=yes
primary_keyboard_layout=us
disable_navigation_bar=yes
screensaver_idle=5
shutdown_combination=yes
timezone=US/Arizona
wallpaper=http://porteus-kiosk.org/public/wallpapers/sample.jpg
whitelist=https://pushpay.com/pay/deserthillsbaptist

thanks in advance for your help.

krodo57
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 29 Dec 2016, 18:08
Distribution: 3.7.0
Location: USA

Resolved Webpage Blocked

Post#5 by krodo57 » 30 Dec 2016, 21:09

Sorry Fanthom for misspelling your name. OK, it looks like whitelist is not working for me. I reconfigured to use the default home page and that opened in the browser. So I reconfigured again using the whitelist url for the home page and that connected as well.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Webpage Blocked

Post#6 by fanthom » 31 Dec 2016, 10:53

Does that mean the issue is resolved?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

krodo57
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 29 Dec 2016, 18:08
Distribution: 3.7.0
Location: USA

Re: Webpage Blocked

Post#7 by krodo57 » 31 Dec 2016, 15:24

I would like to find out why whitelist is not working, but since we're using only 1 url I am putting it in the homepage. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4535
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Webpage Blocked

Post#8 by fanthom » 31 Dec 2016, 16:03

I really dont know where the issue is.

Please try these parameters in your config:
homepage=http://porteus-kiosk.org
disable_navigation_bar=no
whitelist=porteus-kiosk.org

As you can see only porteus-kiosk.org (and subpages) are allowed. If you try to open google.com or any other webpage then you'll get access denied picture.
It should work the same for your website.

BTW: setting up the homepage to porteus-kiosk.org and whitelisting something else (like in your config posted above) will produce 'access denied' picture.

Thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

krodo57
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 9
Joined: 29 Dec 2016, 18:08
Distribution: 3.7.0
Location: USA

Re: Webpage Blocked [Solved]

Post#9 by krodo57 » 31 Dec 2016, 16:40

OK, so I mirrored the homepage and whitelist url for the pushpay site and that worked.

Post Reply