Page 1 of 2

ssh server

Posted: 22 Aug 2013, 14:43
by wsteven
Hi there, don't know where to put this.

I was wondering if there's anyway of intalling a ssh server on the kiosk release? The goal is to be able to reboot or kill a process without having to walk ;)
I don't know slackware, I read about modules, can someone tell me a bit more about it?
Thanks in advance,
Steven

Re: ssh server

Posted: 22 Aug 2013, 18:41
by fanthom
hard task to accomplish but you could:
- install (or run in vbox) porteus standard edition
- grab openssh package from slackware-14.0 repo and convert to xzm with txz2xzm script
- disable firewall through kiosk wizard
- boot kiosk to text mode (described in Kiosk FAQ)
- check if you can start ssh server (probably you'll have to resolve missing deps)
- if you manage to get it to work then start ssh through /etc/rc.d/rc.local

if you are not experienced linux user then i would give up.

Re: ssh server

Posted: 22 Aug 2013, 23:10
by patx
Its a nice feature that i would like to see either, i will give it a try somewhere tomorrow or saturday and post the modules here if i succeed.

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 01:39
by patx
Here is the first part, making the module...

http://www.mediafire.com/?x2jpanr6pcwj96g

enough for tonight. c u all tomorrow :D !!!

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 10:45
by wsteven
Hey, I created the module using the desktop version. Tested there, was working fine.
I copied libssh and openssh to the module directory before recreating the iso. Now, X isn't starting and can't even log to shell, as if my password changed :%)
Doesn't make sense to me ^^

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 11:05
by wsteven
copied inittab, passwd and shadow to rootcopy/, eveything is back to normal... Now time to deal with deps ;)

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 13:35
by wsteven
Ok, ssh server is working now. If interested, here are the modules : http://dl.free.fr/iN5CF7xML

Now I log on with putty and get :

Code: Select all

login as: root
root@192.168.56.102's password:
Server refused to allocate pty
I don't seem to find an answer on how to add ptys, any idea?
Thanks,
Steven

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 13:51
by fanthom
kiosk kernel is compiled without support for virtual terminals (security wise) so you have to use kernel from our 2.1 32bit standard edition.
please copy vmlinuz and 000-kernel.xzm to kiosk ISO and hopefully this will do it.

if you want pxe boot with new kernel then you'll have to replace all drivers in initrdpxe.xz respectively.

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 14:53
by wsteven
Same problem :(
No need for pxe.

Thx,
Steven

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 15:04
by patx
WoW !!! it move fast into the porteus world !!!

here are my modules :

http://www.mediafire.com/?6z32ligkcu7a8db

@wsteven: are you french ?

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 15:19
by fanthom
once kernel is swapped you have to mount devpts, add this code to rc.local:

Code: Select all

mkdir /dev/pts
mount -o mode=0620,gid=5 -nt devpts devpts /dev/pts
connecting with kiosk through ssh works here so must also for you :)

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 15:50
by wsteven
patx wrote:
@wsteven: are you french ?
yes :)

fanthom, you rock! I'll try this on monday, week-end time :beer:

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 18:32
by patx
Thankx fanthom as wsteven said you ROCK !!!

It does work /etc/rc.d/rc.local contains :

Code: Select all

mkdir /dev/pts
mount -o mode=0620,gid=5 -nt devpts devpts /dev/pts
/etc/rc.d/rc.sshd start


@wsteven: moi aussi :D

Re: ssh server

Posted: 23 Aug 2013, 20:19
by patx
If i change run level back to 4 on the inittab file, i cannot login with ssh as if the root passwd changed. Any clue on this ?

Just changing run level back to 3 and rebuild w/o doing anything else fix it, i can login again.

Re: ssh server

Posted: 24 Aug 2013, 00:54
by patx
Hello again,

It seem to be related to the X server, if i leave it in run level 4 and add

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.4 start & > /dev/null
to rc.local, the X server start but from then i cannot login anymore...

I also can login with ssh, launch the cmd above by hand and all works just fine, if i log out from SSH after killing the X server, i cannot login again using ssh or kiosk shell, it says "permission denied".